Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

BATES, MONA, 1889-1971
MUS 53


Mona Bates fonds.  - 1926-1971.  - 2 cm of textual records. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Burlington, Ontario, Mona Bates began her music studies in Hamilton; in 1912 she became a teacher at the Toronto Conservatory of Music.  A talented pianist, she performed in Canada (Massey Hall), the United States (Lewisohn Stadium) and continental Europe.  In 1925 she ended her performing career and opened a studio where she taught piano for almost 40 years.  The Canadian Federation of Music Teachers' Associations bestowed on her a Centennial Citation Award in 1967 for her outstanding teaching. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the musical career of Mona Bates:  correspondence received and sent; students' concert programmes and press clippings. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Doreen Simmons in 1974. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  inventory. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

BATES, MONA, 1889-1971
MUS 53


Fonds Mona-Bates.  - 1926-1971.  - 2 cm de documents textuels. 

Notice biographique
Originaire de Burlington (Ontario), Mona Bates débute ses études musicales à Hamilton et devient, en 1912, professeure au Toronto Conservatory of Music.  Pianiste talentueuse, elle se produit au Canada (Massey Hall), aux États-Unis (Lewisohn Stadium) ainsi qu'en Europe continentale.  En 1925, elle met un terme à sa carrière de concertiste et ouvre un studio où elle enseigne le piano pendant près de 40 ans.  La Fédération canadienne des associations de professeurs de musique lui décerne, en 1967, un Centennial Citation Award pour son enseignement exceptionnel. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents témoignant de la carrière musicale de Mona Bates  :  correspondance reçue et expédiée; programmes de concerts d'élèves et coupures de presse. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Doreen Simmons en 1974. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  inventaire. 



Divulgation proactive