Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MUS 171

Joseph Berljawsky fonds.  - 1938-1969.  - 5 cm of textual records.  - 1 photograph. 

Biographical sketch
Violinist, professor and musicologist, J. Berljawsky was a graduate of the Vienna Academy of Music.  He settled in Canada in 1939, first in Montréal, then in Ottawa, where he founded the Ottawa Music Viva orchestra in 1968. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records illustrating the musical career of J. Berljawsky:  correspondence (Kathleen Parlow, Pauline Donalda); autograph manuscripts of Ten Second Position Tunes and Modern Double Stop for violin; manuscripts of other composers, including Claude Champagne's Habañera; collection of published works and programmes signed by such figures as Enesco, Stravinsky, Heifetz, Thibaud and Reiner; collection of letters (Wieniawski, Menuhin); one photograph of Pierre Monteux (signed). 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Paula Berljawsky, through Catherine Willis, in 1986. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  none. 

Proactive Disclosure