Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MUS 159

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (Music Library) fonds.  - 1936-1976.  - 22 m of textual records. 

Administrative history
Crown corporation created in 1936 by the Broadcasting Act to succeed the Canadian Radio Broadcasting Commission (1932).  In the 1940s, the producers of drama programs, a very popular genre at the time on the radio, would use the services of composers to create their incidental music.  While less frequent since the advent of television, the practice of commissioning works still exists at the CBC. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the activities of the organization:  radio texts; manuscript scores and parts for pieces by contemporary Canadian composers and arrangers, used as background music for CBC programs:  music by such composers as John and Murray Adaskin, Lucio Agostini, Louis Applebaum, Gerald Bales, John Beckwith, Helmut Blume, John Burt, Howard Cable, Hughie Charles, Ronald Cray, Ernest Dainty, Stan Daniels, John Dobson, Samuel Dolin, Percy Faith, Robert Farnon, Gordon Fleming, Robert Fleming, Harry Freedman, Russ Gerow, Eddie Graf, Samuel Hersenhoren, Anthony Hopkins, Herbert Hughes, Victor Hely-Hutchison, P. Jalsevac, Ray Jessel, Richard Johnston, Jack Kane, Moe Koffman, Horace Lapp, Benny Louis, Scott Malcolm, F. Moore, Oskar Morawetz, Phil Nimmons, Bert Niosi, Hugh Orr, Barbara Pentland, John Reeves, Bill Richards, Godfrey Ridout, Murray Ross, Fred Rous, Wataru Saito, Malcolm Sargent, Lou Snider, Harry Somers, John Stevens, Morris Surdin, Roland Todd, John Van Vugt, Denny Vaughan, Arnold Walter, Ozzie William, Lawrence Wilson and Leon Zuckert. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, in a number of accessions, between 1985 and 1993. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description of the first two accessions. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 

Proactive Disclosure