Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

CANADIAN FEDERATION OF MUSIC TEACHERS' ASSOCIATIONS (1935- )
MUS 238


Canadian Federation of Music Teachers' Associations fonds.  - 1920-1997.  - 1.47 m of textual records.  - 24 photographs. 

Administrative history
Originally formed by music teachers' associations in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, the Canadian Federation of Music Teachers' Associations is an umbrella organization of provincial music teachers' associations including the Newfoundland Registered Music Teachers' Association and the Association des professeurs de musique du Québec.  The Federation was incorporated in 1961, and its goals include recognition by schools of the value of credits obtained in specific courses and improvement of the quality of music teaching.  It also set up the Young Artists Series, Canada Music Week and the Centennial Citation Awards.  In addition, it published the periodicals Canadian Music Teacher (1937-46 and 1971-75), the New Bulletin (1946-71) and, beginning in 1975, the Newsletter.  Federation presidents have included Lyell Gustin (1941-46), Dan A. Cameron (1951-55), Robert Pounder (1963-67), Thelma Wilson (1975-79) and Jean Broadfoot (1987-89). 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to Federation activities.  These include the constitution; incorporation documents and regulations; historical notes; minutes and activity reports; financial documents; correspondence, particularly with provincial associations; material concerning a European tour, the Sir Ernest MacMillan organ competition and annual conventions; Association newsletters; scrapbooks of press clippings; concert programmes; and photographs, mainly of Federation members at national meetings. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired by donation from the Federation in 1993 and 1999. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 

Associated material:  Canadian Federation of Music Teachers' Associations fonds (MG 28 I 201) at the National Archives of Canada. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

FÉDÉRATION CANADIENNE DES ASSOCIATIONS DE PROFESSEURS DE MUSIQUE (1935-  )
MUS 238


Fonds de la Fédération canadienne des associations de professeurs de musique.  - 1920-1997.  - 1,47 m de documents textuels.  - 24 photographies. 

Histoire administrative
Formée à l'origine par les associations de professeurs de musique de la Colombie-Britannique, de l'Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, la Fédération canadienne des associations de professeurs de musique est un organisme parapluie qui regroupe les associations provinciales de professeurs de musique dont la Newfoundland Registered Music Teachers' Association et l'Association des professeurs de musique du Québec.  Constituée en corporation en 1961, la Fédération vise, entre autres, à faire reconnaître par l'école la valeur des crédits obtenus en cours particuliers ainsi qu'à améliorer la qualité de l'enseignement de la musique.  Elle a aussi mis sur pied la Young Artists Series, la Semaine de la musique canadienne ainsi que les Centennial Citation Awards.  De plus, elle a publié les périodiques Canadian Music Teacher (1937-46 et 1971-75), le New Bulletin (1946-71) et le Newsletter à partir de 1975.  Plusieurs personnes ont occupé la présidence de la Fédération dont Lyell Gustin (1941-46), Dan A.  Cameron (1951-55), Robert Pounder (1963-67), Thelma Wilson (1975-79) et Jean Broadfoot (1987-89). 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds comprend des documents qui témoignent des activités de la Fédération.  On y retrouve, entre autres, la constitution; les documents d'incorporation et les règlements; des notes historiques; des procès-verbaux et rapports d'activités; des documents financiers; de la correspondance, notamment avec les associations provinciales; des documents relatifs à la tournée européenne, au concours d'orgue Sir Ernest MacMillan et aux congrès annuels; les bulletins de l'Association; des spicilèges de coupures de presse; des programmes de concerts; des photographies illustrant principalement des membres de la Fédération lors de rencontres nationales. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de la Fédération en 1993 et 1999. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 

Documents connexes : Fonds de la Fédération canadienne des associations de professeurs de musique (MG 28 I 201) aux Archives nationales du Canada.



Divulgation proactive