Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

CHAMPAGNE, CLAUDE, 1891-1965
MUS 29


thumbnail[32K] From left to right, Lorenzo Fernandez, Claude Champagne, Bidu Sayão, Jean Morel and Heitor Villa-Lobos, Rio-de-Janeiro, 1946.

Claude Champagne fonds.  - 1895-1965.  - 4. 50 m textual records.  -  425 photographs.  - 219 negatives.  - 44 audio discs.  - 22 audio tape reels. 

Biographical sketch
Claude Champagne made significant contributions as a composer, teacher and promoter of Canadian music.  In addition to some 40 major musical compositions, he produced many pedagogical works, including solfège and sight-reading books, a number of which were written in collaboration with the renowned piano teacher Boris Berlin.  He was primarily responsible for the establishment of the conservatory network in Quebec, and also worked in a number of educational institutions in Montréal and with various organizations involved in the promotion and dissemination of music (BMI Canada, CECM, Matinées symphoniques, CAPAC, UNESCO).  In the summer of 1946, his tour of Brazil as conductor and guest lecturer served to establish the first musical ties between Canada and South America. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to all of the musical activities of Claude Champagne.  Through his writings and educational activities, Claude Champagne contributed to the development of music instruction in Quebec.  He also taught several other prominent composers, including André Prévost, Jacques Hétu and Robert Turner.  The fonds contains, among other items, correspondence; diplomas; biographical documents; manuscripts of his works and arrangements; lesson plans and students' work; documents on his work as chief editor of contemporary music at BMI Canada. 

Series:  A - Personal affairs; B - Correspondence; C - Writings; D - Musical works; E - Educational works; F - Conservatory:  Teaching activities; G - Other educational institutions; H - Broadcast Music Inc.; I - Other activities (CECM, Matinées symphoniques, trip to Brazil, CAPAC, Unesco); J - Sound recordings; K - Photographs; L - Concert programmes and posters; M - Writings on Champagne and his work; N - Other records. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Jeanne Champagne, widow of Claude Champagne, in two accessions (1971). 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  Maureen Nevins.  "Répertoire numérique détaillé du Fonds Claude-Champagne." Ottawa:  National Library of Canada 1991.  223 p.  (unpublished); exhibition catalogue:  Claude Champagne 1891-1965:  Composer, Teacher, Musician.  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  1990.  81 p. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

CHAMPAGNE, CLAUDE, 1891-1965
MUS 29


Thumbnail[32K]

De gauche à droite, Lorenzo Fernandez, Claude Champagne, Bidu Sayão, Jean Morel et Heitor Villa-Lobos, Rio-de-Janeiro, 1946.

Fonds Claude-Champagne.  - 1895-1965.  - 4,50 m de documents textuels.  - 425 photographies.  - 219 négatifs.  - 44 disques sonores.  - 22 bandes sonores. 

Notice biographique
L'apport de Claude Champagne comme compositeur, pédagogue et promoteur de la musique canadienne est considérable.  Aux quelque 40 oeuvres musicales d'envergure s'ajoutent de nombreux ouvrages pédagogiques comprenant des cahiers de solfège et de lecture à vue dont plusieurs ont été rédigés en collaboration avec le réputé professeur de piano Boris Berlin.  Principal artisan de la mise en place du réseau des conservatoires au Québec, Champagne a aussi oeuvré dans plusieurs maisons d'enseignement montréalaises et auprès d'organismes divers voués à la promotion et à la diffusion de la musique (BMI Canada, CECM, Matinées symphoniques, CAPAC, Unesco).  À l'été 1946, sa tournée brésilienne, à titre de chef d'orchestre et de conférencier invité, établit les premiers liens musicaux entre le Canada et l'Amérique du Sud. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent de l'ensemble des activités musicales de Claude Champagne.  Par ses écrits et ses activités pédagogiques, il a contribué au développement de l'enseignement de la musique au Québec et a aussi formé plusieurs compositeurs importants dont André Prévost, Jacques Hétu et Robert Turner.  On y retrouve, entre autres, de la correspondance; des diplômes; des documents biographiques; des manuscrits de ses oeuvres et d'arrangements; des préparations de cours et des travaux d'étudiants; des documents qui relatent son travail d'éditeur en chef de la musique contemporaine à BMI Canada. 

Le fonds comprend les séries suivantes :  A - Affaires personnelles; B - Correspondance; C - Écrits; D - Oeuvres musicales; E - Ouvrages pédagogiques; F - Conservatoire :  Activités pédagogiques; G - Autres maisons d'enseignement; H - Broadcast Music, Inc.; I - Autres activités (CECM, Matinées symphoniques, Voyage au Brésil, CAPAC, Unesco); J - Enregistrements sonores; K - Photographies; L - Programmes et affiches de concerts; M - Écrits sur Champagne et son oeuvre; N - Autres documents. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Jeanne Champagne, veuve de Claude Champagne, en 2 versements (1971). 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  Maureen Nevins.  «Répertoire numérique détaillé du Fonds Claude-Champagne».  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1991.  223 p.  (inédit); catalogue d'exposition Claude Champagne 1891-1965 compositeur, pédagogue, musicien.  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1990.  81 p. 



Divulgation proactive