Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

CANADIAN MUSIC EDUCATORS' ASSOCIATION (1959- )
MUS 258


Canadian Music Educators' Association fonds.  - 1959-1995.  - 4.14 m of textual records.  - 60 photographs.  - 30 negatives.  - 1 slide. 

Biographical sketch
Founded by a number of Canadians under the chairmanship of Leslie Bell and incorporated in 1972, the Canadian Music Educators' Association represents provincial music educators' associations such as the British Columbia Music Educators' Association, the Music Council of the Newfoundland Teachers' Association and the Ontario Music Educators' Association.  The organization's primary goal is to inform musicians and music educators in Canada; it also publishes a quarterly, The Canadian Music Educator, the Newsletter, and a range of papers.  The Association holds biennial national conventions and organizes a number of conferences in the areas of education, the media and publishing.  Beginning in 1964, the Association has conferred the Leslie Bell Award on a host province choir at each convention.  In 1989, it also initiated several new awards, including the Christopher Gledhill Award (orchestra), the Don Wright Award (vocal or instrumental jazz ensemble) and the Robert Rosevear Award (concert band).  Association presidents have included G. Roy Fenwick (1959-60), Lola MacQuarrie (1963-65), Kenneth Bray (1973-77) and Paul Maynard (1985-89). 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the Association's activities, including minutes of board of directors meetings; correspondence; financial statements; members' files; publications committee reports; the Association's Newsletter; programs and other convention-related material; and St Catharines documentation centre material; photographs taken mainly during symposiums. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from the Canadian Music Educators' Association in 1997. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  every five years. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES ÉDUCATEURS DE MUSIQUE (1959-  )
MUS 258


Fonds de l'Association canadienne des éducateurs de musique.  - 1959-1995.  - 4,14 m de documents textuels.  - 60 photographies.  - 30 négatifs.  - 1 diapositive. 

Notice biographique
Fondée par plusieurs Canadiens sous la présidence de Leslie Bell et incorporée en 1972, l'Association canadienne des éducateurs de musique représente les associations provinciales d'éducateurs de musique telles que la British Columbia Music Educators' Association, la Music Council of the Newfoundland Teachers' Association et l'Ontario Music Educators' Association.  L'organisme vise avant tout à informer les musiciens et les éducateurs de musique au Canada et publie le trimestriel The Canadian Music Educator, le Newsletter ainsi que différents mémoires.  L'association tient des congrès nationaux bisannuels et organise plusieurs conférences dans les domaines de l'éducation, des médias et de l'édition.  À partir de 1964, l'association remet à chaque congrès le prix Leslie Bell à une chorale de la province hôtesse.  En 1989, elle met aussi sur pied plusieurs nouveaux prix dont le prix Christopher Gledhill (orchestre), le prix Don Wright (ensemble de jazz vocal ou instrumental) et le prix Robert Rosevear (harmonie de concert).  Parmi les présidents de l'organisme, mentionnons G. Roy Fenwick (1959-60), Lola MacQuarrie (1963-65), Kenneth Bray (1973-77) et Paul Maynard (1985-89). 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds comprend des documents qui témoignent des activités de l'Association.  On y retrouve :  des procès-verbaux du conseil d'administration; de la correspondance; des états financiers; des dossiers de membres; des rapports du comité des publications; le bulletin de l'Association (Newsletter); des programmes et autres documents relatifs aux congrès; des documents du centre de documentation de Saint Catharines; des photographies prises principalement lors de colloques. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de l'Association canadienne des éducateurs de musique en 1997. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive