Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MUS 188

Czech String Quartet fonds.  - 1968-1974.  - 15 cm of textual records. 

Administrative history
String quartet founded in 1968 by musicians trained in Czechoslovakia who moved to Canada in 1969.  In addition to their concert tours, the musicians (Milan Vitek, Rudolf Kalup, Jaroslav Karlovsky, Zdenek Konicek) were members of the Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra.  The group was also in residence at McMaster University. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the activities of the Quartet:  correspondence; concert programmes; publicity flyers; press clippings; posters. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Zdenek, member of the Quartet, in 1989. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  none. 

Proactive Disclosure