Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MUS 203

Raymond Daveluy fonds.  - 1955-1991.  - 11 cm of textual records. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Victoriaville, Quebec, Raymond Daveluy began his musical training with his father, and continued it in Montréal with Gabriel Cusson (1939-1945) and Conrad Letendre (1942-1948) and in New York with Hugh Giles (1948).  A remarkable organist, he has given numerous recitals in Canada, the United States and Europe.  In 1975 the artist performed, with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Saint-Saëns' Symphonie no 3.  In the course of his career, he has served as organist at the churches of Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Immaculée-Conception, Saint-Sixte and the St.  Joseph's Oratory in Montréal.  He has taught at the Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal, the Conservatoire de Trois-Rivières and McGill University.  Raymond Daveluy was appointed president of the Académie de musique du Québec and principal of the Trois-Rivières and the Montréal conservatories.  His compositions include works for organ, piano, organ and orchestra, choir and orchestra, and theatre.  In 1980 he was made a member of the Order of Canada. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to Raymond Daveluy's activities as a composer:  drafts and autograph manuscripts of the works entitled Quintette pour piano et cordes, Andante of the Sonate pour orgue no.  1, Sonates pour orgue nos  2, 3 et 4, Prélude et fugue pour orgue, Concerto en mi pour orgue et orchestre, 4 Préludes de chorals pour orgue, Messe en mi mineur pour choeur et orgue, Sonate pour orgue et trompette, Sonate pour piano

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Raymond Daveluy in 1992. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 

Proactive Disclosure