Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

DELA, MAURICE, 1919-1978
MUS 161


Maurice Dela fonds.  - 1920-1979.  - 1.35 m of textual records.  - 49 photographs.  - 6 negatives.  - 36 audio discs.  - 74 audio tape reels. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Montréal, Quebec in 1919, Maurice Dela (pseudonym of Albert Phaneuf) studied and worked in that city as a musician.  From 1951 to 1965, he was an arranger and composer for the CBC (L'Heure du concert, Sérénade pour cordes. . . ).  He was director of music instruction at André-Laurendeau High School (1965-78) and professor of orchestration at the Université du Québec à Montréal (1973-78).  Dela was also organist at the Church of Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs in Verdun.  His works are written for orchestra or band, chamber ensembles and for choir or voice.  His Sonatine for violin and piano has been performed in Canada and Europe, and his Scherzo was performed by the Symphony Orchestra of Costa Rica conducted by Carlos Vargos, in 1970. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical activities of Maurice Dela:  awards and diplomas; biographical documents; correspondence; works as a student at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal; compositions and musical arrangements for orchestra, chamber music, keyboard, choral music and other vocal music; catalogues of works and arrangements; teaching material (college and university); texts of lectures, programme notes, published articles and other writing; criticism and other writings on Dela; annotated printed scores and manuscript copies of works by other composers; contracts; concert programmes; press clippings; photographs and negatives, mainly of family members; sound recordings consisting principally of works and arrangements by Maurice Dela. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from José Tenenbaum and Renée Phaneuf-Tenenbaum, in 1984, 1985 and 1986. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  inventory; provisional description. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

DELA, MAURICE, 1919-1978
MUS 161


Fonds Maurice-Dela.  - 1920-1979.  - 1,35 m de documents textuels.  - 49 photographies.  - 6 négatifs.  - 36 disques sonores.  - 74 bandes sonores. 

Notice biographique
Né à Montréal (Québec) en 1919, Maurice Dela (pseudonyme d'Albert Phaneuf) étudie et exerçe dans cette même ville son métier de musicien.  De 1951 à 1965, il est arrangeur et compositeur pour la Société Radio-Canada (L'Heure du concert, Sérénade pour cordes. . . ).  Il est directeur de l'enseignement musical à l'école secondaire André-Laurendeau (1965-78) et professeur d'orchestration à l'Université du Québec à Montréal (1973-78).  Dela occupe aussi un poste d'organiste à l'église Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs à Verdun.  Ses oeuvres sont écrites pour orchestre ou harmonie, pour ensembles de chambre et pour choeur ou voix.  Sa Sonatine pour violon et piano a été jouée au Canada et en Europe et son Scherzo a été exécuté par l'Orchestre symphonique de Costa Rica sous la direction de Carlos Vargos en 1970. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des activités musicales de Maurice Dela :  prix et diplômes; documents biographiques; correspondance; travaux de Maurice Dela comme étudiant au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal; compositions et arrangements musicaux pour orchestre, musique de chambre, clavier, musique chorale et autre musique vocale; catalogues des oeuvres et arrangements; matériel didactique (collège et université); textes de conférences; notes de programmes; articles publiés et autres écrits; critiques et autres écrits sur Dela; partitions imprimées annotées et copies manuscrites d'oeuvres d'autres compositeurs; contrats; programmes de concerts; coupures de presse; photographies et négatifs représentant principalement des membres de sa famille; enregistrements sonores composés principalement d'oeuvres et d'arrangements de Maurice Dela. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de José Tenenbaum et Renée Phaneuf-Tenenbaum en 1984, 1985 et 1986. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche inventaire; description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive