Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

DENYS, JEAN-BAPTISTE, 1864-1947
MUS 220


Jean-Baptiste Denys fonds.  - 1904-1922.  - 2 textual records.  - 7 photographs. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Berthier, near Sorel, Quebec, Jean-Baptiste Denys held the position of organist in a number of churches in Quebec and Ontario.  He taught successively at the Académie Saint-Jean-Baptiste and at the Collège Bourget in Rigaud, the Collège de L'Assomption and the Collège Saint-Louis de Terrebonne.  He wrote works for piano and religious music, and harmonized many Canadian folk songs. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical career of Jean-Baptiste Denys:  biographical notes; photographs of Jean-Baptiste Denys and members of his family. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired through a transfer from the Art, Photography and Philatellic Section, Visual and Sound Archives Division, National Archives of Canada in 1992. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  inventory. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

DENYS, JEAN-BAPTISTE, 1864-1947
MUS 220


Fonds Jean-Baptiste-Denys.  - 1904-1922.  - 2 documents textuels. - 7 photographies. 

Notice biographique
Originaire de Berthier, près de Sorel (Québec), Jean-Baptiste Denys occupe le poste d'organiste dans plusieurs églises du Québec et de l'Ontario.  Il enseigne successivement à l'Académie Saint-Jean-Baptiste, au Collège Bourget de Rigaud, au Collège de L'Assomption et au Collège Saint-Louis de Terrebonne.  Il écrit des oeuvres pour piano, de la musique religieuse et harmonise de nombreux chants tirés du folklore canadien. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent de la carrière musicale de Jean-Baptiste Denys :  notes biographiques; photographies de Jean-Baptiste Denys et de membres de sa famille. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis d'un transfert de la Section de l'art, de la photo et de la philatélie, Division des archives visuelles et sonores, Archives nationales du Canada en novembre 1992. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  inventaire. 



Divulgation proactive