Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

DONALDA, PAULINE, 1882-1970
MUS 72


Thumbnail[57K] Minutes of the first meeting of Incorporators of the Opera Guild, March 10, 1942.

Pauline Donalda fonds.  - 1901-1984.  - 75 cm of textual records.  - 231 photographs.  - 4 negatives.  - 1 tintype. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Montréal, Quebec, Pauline Donalda studied music at Royal Victoria College.  In 1902, she received a grant from Lord Strathcona and continued her studies in Paris with Edmond Duvernoy (voice), Paul Lhérie (stage production), Pierre Breton (elocution) and Babette Rosen (Italian).  Thanks to the intervention of Massenet, she made her debut in 1904 singing Manon in Nice.  Endowed with an exceptional voice, the soprano performed in Canada, the United States, Europe and Russia.  In 1922 she opened a studio in Paris and turned her attention to teaching.  She returned to Montréal permanently in 1937, opened a studio and founded in 1942 the Opera Guild of Montreal Inc.  President and artistic director of this organization until 1969, she presented 29 operas in 28 seasons. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to Pauline Donalda's singing career and activities of the Opera Guild.  It contains four scrapbooks relating her career as a performer and teacher from 1901 to 1937; 12 scrapbooks covering her activities with the Opera Guild company from 1943 to 1969; administrative records of the Opera Guild, including a minutes book; correspondence with various personalities such as Ellen Ballon, Rose Bampton, Wilfrid Pelletier, Gratien Gélinas, Mischa Elman, Albert Einstein and Edward Johnson; diplomas; writings; concert programmes; biographical notes (Sarah Berne); photographs, tintype and negatives, chiefly depicting Pauline Donalda and personalities of the music world. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from May Lightstone (sister of P. Donalda), Sarah Berne (treasurer of the Opera Guild) and La Scala Autographs Inc., in a number of accessions, between 1976 and 1990. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  none. 

Associated material:  the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, McGill University Libraries, holds some correspondence received by Pauline Donalda. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

DONALDA, PAULINE, 1882-1970
MUS 72


Thumbnail[57K] Procès-verbal de la première réunion des Fondateurs d'Opéra Guild, 10 mars 1942.

Fonds Pauline-Donalda.  - 1901-1984.  - 75 cm de documents textuels.  - 231 photographies.  - 4 négatifs.  - 1 ferrotype. 

Notice biographique
Née à Montréal (Québec), Pauline Donalda étudie la musique au Royal Victoria College.  En 1902, elle reçoit une bourse de lord Strathcona et poursuit ses études à Paris avec Edmond Duvernoy (voix), Paul Lhérie (mise en scène), Pierre Breton (élocution) et Babette Rosen (italien).  Grâce à l'intervention de Massenet, elle débute à Nice, en 1904, sa carrière de chanteuse dans le rôle de Manon.  Douée d'une voix exceptionnelle, la soprano se produit au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Russie.  En 1922, elle ouvre un studio à Paris et se consacre à l'enseignement.  Elle revient définitivement à Montréal en 1937, ouvre un studio et fonde en 1942 l'Opera Guild of Montreal Inc.  Présidente et directrice artistique de l'organisme jusqu'en 1969, elle présente 29 opéras en 28 saisons. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent de la carrière de chanteuse de Pauline Donalda ainsi que des activités de sa compagnie Opera Guild.  Il contient 4 spicilèges relatant la carrière d'interprète et d'enseignante de Mme Donalda de 1901 à 1937; 12 spicilèges couvrant ses activités avec la compagnie Opera Guild de 1943 à 1969; documents admisnistratifs de l'Opera Guild dont un livre de procès-verbaux; correspondance avec diverses personnalités dont Ellen Ballon, Rose Bampton, Wilfrid Pelletier, Gratien Gélinas, Mischa Elman, Albert Einstein et Edward Johnson; diplômes; écrits; programmes de concerts; notes biographiques (Sarah Berne); photographies, ferrotype et négatifs représentant principalement Pauline Donalda et des personnalités du milieu musical. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de May Lightstone (soeur de P.  Donalda), de Sarah Berne (trésorière de l'Opera Guild) et de La Scala Autographs Inc., en plusieurs versements, entre les années 1976 et 1990. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  aucun. 

Documents connexes :  le Départment des livres rares et collections spéciales, Bibliothèques de l'Université McGill, conserve de la correspondance reçue par Pauline Donalda. 



Divulgation proactive