Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

GOULD, GLENN, 1932-1982
MUS 109


Glenn Gould fonds.  1932-1982.  - 8 m of textual records.  - ca. 1,700 photographs.  - 197 audio discs.  - 1,573 audio tape reels.  - 98 videocassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Toronto, Ontario, Glenn Gould began his music studies at the age of three, with his mother as his first teacher.  He continued his studies at the Toronto Conservatory of Music with teachers Alberto Guerrero (piano) and Frederick Silvester (organ).  A prodigious talent, he received his Associate Diploma from the conservatory in October 1946.  Meanwhile, he made his debut as an organist at a recital of the Casavant Society in December 1945, and as a concert pianist in May 1946 in one of the conservatory's year-end concerts, conducted by Ettore Mazzoleni.  His career as a concert artist continued for 18 years, during which he performed with the most celebrated orchestras and conductors:  the philharmonic orchestras of New York (Bernstein) and Berlin (Karajan), the Concertgebouw Orchestra at the Salzburg Festival (Mitropoulos), the London Symphony Orchestra (Krips), etc.  In 1964 he terminated his career as a concert performer to devote himself almost exclusively to recording (with Columbia), the production of radio and television documentaries, and the publication of literature, in which he expounds upon the merits of the electronic media.  Fascinated by studio recording, the artist exploited its technological possibilities to a degree still unequaled in the "classical" music world.  Gould composed a few works, most of which have been published.  He also produced some piano transcriptions whose subtle and original conception transcends mere reduction for piano.  Since his death in 1982, Gould has lost none of his fascination:  he has been nominated posthumously twice for a Grammy Award for best performance; the Glenn Gould Society was created in Holland, the Glenn Gould Foundation and the Friends of Glenn Gould in Canada. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to Glenn Gould's personal life and musical career.  The many items in this documentary ensemble reveal Gould's musicological thought; they uncover his technological bias and exceptional performing qualities which earned him international recognition. 

The fonds contains, among other items, passports; personal and professional correspondence; awards and honours; compositions; published and unpublished writings by Gould; writings on Gould in newspapers and periodicals; collection of books and scores annotated by Gould; photographs of Glenn Gould, members of his family, and personalities in the music world; sound and video recordings of Glenn Gould, of interviews and of radio broadcasts. 

The fonds consists of the following series:  MUS 109/A Writings; MUS 109/B Musical Works and Arrangements; MUS 109/C Programmes; MUS 109/D Sound and Video Recordings; MUS 109/E Publicity Records; MUS 109/F Honourary Distictions; MUS 109/G Correspondence; MUS 109/H Photographs; MUS 109/I Official Records; MUS 109/J Financial Records; MUS 109/K Medical Records; MUS 109/L Printed Material; MUS 109/M Memorabilia; MUS 109/N Miscellaneous. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from the Estate of Glenn Gould in 1983. 

Restrictions:  written permission from the Estate of Glenn Gould is required for access to the medical and certain financial records and some of the correspondence. 

Finding aids:  National Library of Canada.  Descriptive Catalogue of the Glenn Gould Papers.  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  1992.  326 p.  (two volumes); computerized inventories; exhibition catalogue. 
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/glenngould/index-e.html).



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

GOULD, GLENN, 1932-1982
MUS 109


Fonds Glenn-Gould.  - 1932-1982.  - 8 m de documents textuels.  - env.  1 700 photographies.  - 197 disques sonores.  - 1 573 bandes sonores.  - 98 vidéocassettes. 

Notice biographique
Né à Toronto (Ontario), Glenn Gould débute l'apprentissage de la musique dès l'âge de trois ans avec sa mère comme premier professeur.  Il poursuit ses études au Toronto Conservatory of Music avec les professeurs Alberto Guerrero pour le piano et Frederick Silvester pour l'orgue.  Prodigieusement doué, il reçoit son diplôme «Associate» du conservatoire en octobre 1946.  Entre-temps, il fait ses débuts comme organiste lors d'un récital de la Société Casavant en décembre 1945 et comme pianiste concertiste en mai 1946 dans un concert de fin d'année du conservatoire, dirigé par le chef Ettore Mazzoleni.  Sa carrière d'artiste de concert se poursuit durant 18 autres années où il s'exécute avec les orchestres et les chefs les plus prestigieux :  Philharmonique de New York (Bernstein), Berlin (Karajan), Concertgebouw au Festival de Salzbourg (Mitropoulos), Orchestre symphonique de Londres (Krips), etc.  En 1964, il met fin à sa carrière d'artiste de concert pour se consacrer presque entièrement à l'enregistrement (chez Columbia), à la production de documentaires radiophoniques et télévisés ainsi qu'à la publication d'écrits dans lesquels il fait la promotion des médias électroniques.  Fasciné par l'enregistrement en studio, l'artiste en exploite les possibilités technologiques à un degré encore inégalé dans le monde musical dit «classique».  Gould compose quelques oeuvres dont la plupart sont publiées.  Il est également auteur de transcriptions pour piano qui transcendent la simple réduction pianistique par leur conception subtile et originale.  Depuis son décès en 1982, l'artiste est mis en nomination à deux reprises à titre posthume pour un Grammy Award de la meilleure interprétation; on assiste également à la création de la Société Glenn-Gould en Hollande, de la Fondation à la mémoire de Glenn Gould et les Amis de Glenn Gould au Canada. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds comprend des documents qui témoignent de la vie personnelle et de la carrière musicale de Glenn Gould.  Les nombreuses pièces de cet ensemble documentaire révèlent la pensée musicologique de Gould et dévoilent aussi son intéret pour la technologie ainsi que ses qualités exceptionnelles d'interprète qui lui ont valu une reconnaissance internationale. 

Le fonds contient, entre autres, des passeports; de la correspondance personnelle et professionnelle; des prix et honneurs; des compositions; des écrits de Gould, inédits et publiés; des écrits sur Gould dans les journaux et périodiques; une collection de livres et de partitions annotés par Gould; des photographies de Glenn Gould, de membres de sa famille et de personnalités du monde musical; des enregistrements sonores et des vidéos de Glenn Gould, d'interviews et d'émissions radiophoniques. 

Le fonds est composé des séries suivantes :  MUS 109/A Écrits; MUS 109/B Oeuvres musicales et arrangements; MUS 109/C Programmes; MUS 109/D Enregistrements sonores et vidéos; MUS 109/E Documents publicitaires; MUS 109/F Distinctions honorifiques; MUS 109/G Correspondance; MUS 109/H Photographies; MUS 109/I Documents officiels; MUS 109/J Documents financiers; MUS 109/K Documents médicaux; MUS 109/L Imprimés; MUS 109/M Souvenirs; MUS 109/N Varia. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de la Succession Glenn-Gould en 1983. 

Restrictions :  une permission écrite de la Succession Glenn-Gould est requise pour avoir accès aux dossiers médicaux et à certains dossiers financiers, et pour quelques pièces de correspondance.

Instruments de recherche :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  Catalogue raisonné du fonds Glenn-Gould.  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1992.  326 p.  (deux volumes); inventaire informatisé; catalogue d'exposition. 
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/glenngould).



Divulgation proactive