Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

HIRVY, MICHEL, 1900?-1966
MUS 52

Michel Hirvy fonds.  - 1928-1957.  - 5 cm of textual records.  - 3 videocassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Pianist and teacher born in Poland, Michel Hirvy (born Mischa Hirschowitz) studied music in Europe and moved to Montréal, Quebec in 1941.  In Paris and Montréal he produced a series of films showing, in slow motion, the piano techniques of several famous pianists. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical career of Michel Hirvy:  personal correspondence; video recordings; lecture notes, correspondence and clippings pertaining to a series of silent films illustrating, at slow speed, piano techniques of Hirvy and other famous pianists such as Alfred Cortot, Arthur Rubinstein, Rudolf Serkin, Vladimir Horowitz, Rosalyn Tureck et Glenn Gould. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Neil Chotem in 1974. 

Restrictions:  permission from Neil Chotem is required to obtain a copy of the videocassettes. 

Finding aids:  none. 

Associated material:  Michel Hirvy's original films are preserved at the National Archives of Canada. 

Proactive Disclosure