Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada
JOACHIM, OTTO, 1910-
MUS 270

Thumbnail[48K] Recto     Thumbnail[29K] Verso
Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, "Concerts pour la Jeunesse", 184e Matinée, 14 mars 1959.  (by permission of l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal)

Otto Joachim fonds.  - [1912?]-1998.  - 1 m of textual records.  - 122 photographs.  - 74 audio tape reels.  - 12 audio tape cassettes.  - 2 digital audio tapes. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Düsseldorf (Germany), Otto Joachim studied violin at the Buths-Neitzel conservatory for a number of years and, starting in 1928, at the Rheinische Musikschule with Hermann Zitzmann.  In 1934, he left Germany and settled in Asia (Singapore, Shanghai), where he pursued a career as both instrumentalist and teacher.  In 1949, the artist obtained an immigrant visa to Brazil and, following a visit to Canada, decided to live in Montréal.  He became a member of and solo viola player for the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and the McGill Chamber Orchestra.  Along with his brother Walter (cello), Hyman Bress (violin) and Mildred Goodman (violin), he founded the Montreal String Quartet (1955-63).  The ensemble was very successful and its repertoire, consisting of primarily Canadian music, contributed to the dissemination of works by Canadian composers such as François Morel, Clermont Pépin, Violet Archer and Jean Papineau-Couture.  In 1956, he pursued a teaching career at the McGill Conservatorium and at the Conservatoire de musique du Québec in Montréal, where until 1977, he taught, among other things, chamber music classes.  A composer of many moods, he has produced several works, including Asia, Concertante No 1, Contrastes, Divertimento, Night Music, Kinderspiel, Uraufführung and a String Quartet.  He was also responsible for the electroacoustic music piece called Katimavik , composed for the Expo '67 Canada Pavilion.

Scope and content
The fonds includes records concerning the life and musical activiites of Otto Joachim.  Several records also illustrate the many years spent by the composer in Asia.  It contains, among other items, biographical and official records (passport, visas); professional correspondence, namely with Udo Kasemets, Glenn Gould, John Weinzweig and Maureen Forrester; writings; musical works including Asia, L'Éclosion, Illumination I, Uraufführung and Mobile für Johann Sebastian Bach ; files pertaining to works; concert programmes; promotional material; records related to various activities of Joachim including those of the Montreal Consort of Ancient Instruments; contracts; press clippings; photographs of Joachim, family members and other artists; and sound recordings of concerts conducted by Joachim and of his works, including Kinderspiel, Paean and Katimavik.

The fonds comprises the following series:  MUS 270/A Personal Records; MUS 270/B Correspondence; MUS 270/C Musical Works; MUS 270/D Files Pertaining to Musical Works; MUS 270/E Other Musical Activities; MUS 270/F Awards, Honours and Tributes; MUS 270/G Photographs; MUS 270/H Sound Recordings; MUS 270/I Miscellaneous. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Otto Joachim in 1996.

Restrictions: none.

Finding aids: Stéphane Jean. The Otto Joachim fonds: Numerical List.  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada. 1999.  56 p.
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/music/index-e.html#fonds). 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada
JOACHIM, OTTO, 1910-
MUS 270

Thumbnail[48K] Recto     Thumbnail[29K] Verso

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, «Concerts pour la Jeunesse», 184e Matinée, 14 mars 1959.  (avec l'autorisation de l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal)

Fonds Otto-Joachim.  - [1912?]-1998.  - 1 m de documents textuels.  - 122 photographies.  - 74 bandes sonores.  - 12 cassettes sonores.  - 2 cassettes audio-numériques. 

Notice biographique
Né à Düsseldorf (Allemagne), Otto Joachim étudie le violon au conservatoire Buths-Neitzel durant plusieurs années et, à partir de 1928, au Rheinische Musikschule avec Hermann Zitzmann.  En 1934, il quitte l'Allemagne et s'installe en Asie (Singapour, Shanghai) où il poursuit à la fois une carrière d'instrumentiste et d'enseignant.  L'artiste obtient en 1949 un visa d'immigrant au Brésil et il décide, suite à un séjour au Canada, de s'établir définitivement à Montréal.  Il devient membre ainsi qu'altiste solo de l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal et de l'Orchestre de chambre McGill.  Il fonde de plus, avec son frère Walter (violoncelle), Hyman Bress (violon) et Mildred Goodman (violon), le Quatuor à cordes de Montréal (1955-63).  L'ensemble connaît de vifs succès et son répertoire, largement composé de musique canadienne, a contribué à la diffusion d'oeuvres de compositeurs d'ici tels que François Morel, Clermont Pépin, Violet Archer et Jean Papineau-Couture.  En 1956, il poursuit sa carrière de professeur au McGill Conservatorium ainsi qu'au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal où il est titulaire, entre autres, des classes de musique de chambre jusqu'en 1977.  Compositeur aux inspirations multiples, il nous laisse plusieurs oeuvres dont Asia, Concertante no 1, Contrastes, Divertimento, Night Music, Kinderspiel, Uraufführung et un Quatuor à cordes.  On lui doit également la pièce de musique électroacoustique Katimavik; oeuvre composée pour le Pavillon canadien d'Expo 67. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds comprend des documents qui témoignent de la vie et des activités musicales d'Otto Joachim.  Plusieurs documents illustrent aussi les nombreuses années du compositeur passées en Asie.  Il contient, entre autres, des documents biographiques et officiels (passeports, visas); de la correspondance professionnelle, notamment avec Udo Kasemets, Glenn Gould, John Weinzweig, Maureen Forrester; des écrits; des oeuvres musicales dont Asia, L'Éclosion, Illumination I, Uraüffuhrung et Mobile für Johann Sebastian Bach; des dossiers relatifs aux oeuvres; des programmes de concerts; des documents publicitaires; des dossiers relatifs aux diverses activités de Joachim dont celles du Montreal Consort of Ancient Instruments; des contrats; des coupures de presses; des photographies de Joachim, de membres de sa famille et de divers artistes; des enregistrements sonores de concerts dirigés par Joachim et d'oeuvres du compositeur dont Kinderspiel, Paean, et Katimavik.

Le fonds est composé des séries suivantes : MUS 270/A Documents personels; MUS 270/B Correspondance; MUS 270/C Oeuvres musicales; MUS 270/D Dossiers relatifs aux oeuvres musicales; MUS 270/E Autres activitées musicales; MUS 270/F Prix, honneurs et hommages; MUS 270/G Photographies; MUS 270/H Enregistrements Sonores; MUS 270/I Varia.

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis d'Otto Joachim en 1996. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  Stéphane Jean. Le Fonds Otto-Joachim : répertoire numérique. Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada. 1999. 59 p.
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/musique/index-f.html#fonds)

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive