Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

JOBIN, RAOUL, 1906-1974
MUS 28


Raoul Jobin fonds.  - 1926-1968.  - 3 textual records.  - 1 photograph.  - 333 audio discs. 

Biographical sketch
Tenor, professor, administrator and senior civil servant born in Quebec, Raoul Jobin (born Joseph Roméo) began to study singing with Louis Gravel and Émile Larochelle.  In the late 1920s, he continued his artistic training in Paris with Ms. d'Estainville-Rousset (singing) and Abby Chéreau (production).  In 1930 the artist made his professional debut at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in an oratorio by Liszt, and at the Opéra in Roméo et Juliette.  Upon his return to Quebec in 1931, Jobin performed with the G. De Foe troupe, the Société canadienne d'opérette and the San Carlo Opera Company, with which he took part, for example, in performances of Faust, Rigoletto and Pagliacci .  In 1934 he became the first tenor at the Opéra-Comique in Paris, and until 1939 was engaged by numerous French opera houses.  A celebrated tenor, he subsequently performed in Canada, the United States (Metropolitan Opera, 1940-50), South America, Europe and North Africa.  In 1957 he was appointed a professor at the Conservatoire de musique du Québec in Montréal and Québec City, where he also served as director from 1961 to 1970.  From 1970 to 1973, Raoul Jobin worked for the Quebec government as a cultural consultant. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical activities of Raoul Jobin:  concert programmes; autographed photograph of Raoul Jobin; sound recordings of Raoul Jobin in performance with the Metropolitan Opera (Lakmé, Faust, Louise, Tales of Hoffman, Carmen, Pagliacci, etc.) and on the CBC English radio network.

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Colon Record S.R.L. in 1980; La Scala Autographs Inc., in 1988; and the widow of Raoul Jobin, in 1993 (audio discs). 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  summary list. 

Associated material:  Raoul Jobin fonds (P0357) at the Archives nationales du Québec, Centre d'archives de Québec. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

JOBIN, RAOUL, 1906-1974
MUS 28


Fonds Raoul-Jobin.  - 1926-1968.  - 3 documents textuels.  - 1 photographie.  - 333 disques sonores. 

Notice biographique
Ténor, professeur, administrateur et haut fonctionnaire né au Québec, Raoul Jobin (né Joseph Roméo) entreprend l'étude du chant avec Louis Gravel et Émile Larochelle.  À la fin des années 1920, il poursuit sa formation artistique à Paris avec Mme d'Estainville-Rousset (chant) et Abby Chéreau (mise en scène).  En 1930, l'artiste fait ses débuts professionnels au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées dans un oratorio de Liszt ainsi qu'à l'Opéra dans Roméo et Juliette.  De retour au Québec en 1931, Jobin se produit avec la troupe de G.  De Feo, la Société canadienne d'opérette et la San Carlo Opera Company avec laquelle il participe, entre autres, à des représentations de Faust, Rigoletto et Pagliacci.  En 1934, il devient premier ténor à l'Opéra-Comique de Paris et est engagé, jusqu'en 1939, par de nombreux théâtres lyriques français.  Ténor réputé, il se produit par la suite aux Canada, aux États-Unis (Metropolitan Opera, 1940-1950), en Amérique du Sud, en Europe et en Afrique du Nord.  En 1957, il est nommé professeur au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal et à Québec où il assume aussi, de 1961 à 1970, la direction du Conservatoire.  De 1970 à 1973, Raoul Jobin travaille pour le gouvernement du Québec à titre de conseiller culturel. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des activités musicales de Raoul Jobin :  programmes de concerts; photographie de Raoul Jobin autographiée; enregistrements sonores de Raoul Jobin lors d'exécutions avec le Metropolitan Opera (Lakmé, Faust, Louise, Contes d'Hoffman, Carmen, Pagliacci, etc.) et à la radio du réseau anglais de la Société Radio-Canada. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis chez Colon Record S. R. L.  en 1980, de La Scala Autographs Inc., en 1988, et de la veuve de Raoul Jobin, , en 1993 (disques sonores). 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  liste sommaire. 

Documents connexes :  Fonds Raoul-Jobin (P0357) aux Archives nationales du Québec, Centre d'archives de Québec. 



Divulgation proactive