Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

KALEJS, JANIS, 1912-1973
MUS 55

Janis and Felicita Kalejs fonds.  - 1948-1973.  - 4 cm of textual records. 

Biographical sketches

Janis:  Violinist, professor and composer born in Latvia, Janis Kalejs moved to Canada with his wife in 1949 and became director of the department of string instruments at Acadia University.  The artist gave numerous concerts in Canada and the United States. 

Felicita (née Vilma Maizite) (1911- ):  Pianist and accompanist, she taught piano at Acadia University.  Felicita Kalejs performed in concert with her husband and also accompanied many artists on the radio, including Teresa Stratas and Audrey Farnell. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records illustrating the musical careers of Janis and Felicita Kalejs:  biographical document; correspondence; concert programmes; posters; press clippings; membership cards. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Felicita Kalejs, through John Swettenham, in 1974. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  none. 

Proactive Disclosure