Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

LAFRAMBOISE, PHILIPPE, 1924-
MUS 281


Philippe Laframboise fonds.  - 1926-1997.  - 2.56 m of textual records.  - 406 photographs.  - 47 audio tape reels.

Biographical sketch
Philippe Laframboise, a journalist, writer, researcher and historian born in Sainte-Geneviève de Pierrefonds, Quebec, moved to Montréal in 1935 to continue his elementary education.  In 1942, he became a newsroom messenger at Le Devoir and in 1947 began his career as a journalist with Le Progrès de Villeray, written under the pseudonym Christian de Vincy.  That same year, he published the narrative Les Vacances de Lili and, with author Béatrice Clément, founded the Association des écrivains pour la jeunesse.  In 1955, Laframboise moved to France to study art history, French literature, phonetics and drama, among other subjects.  During his career, he also worked for the weeklies Nouvelles Illustrées and Télé-Radiomonde and for a range of radio and television programs including La Valse a cent ans and L'Univers de Yoland Guérard

Scope and content
The fonds contains, among other items, biographical notes and a press file on Laframboise; manuscripts of books (Les Chansons de la Bolduc, Dieu chez Piaf, Tino Rossi :  cinquante ans d'amour, Les Vacances de Lili, etc.); scripts for radio series (Le Grand carrousel du samedi matin, La Petite histoire de la chanson, etc.); scripts for television series (Histoire d'une étoile, C'était l'bon temps, Québec sait chanter, Formi. . .  formidable, etc.); and biographical notes on personalities in the artistic world; photographs of popular singers, actors and other personalities of the Quebec and European stage; recordings of variety shows and interviews for CFTM between 1965 and 1970. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired by donation from Philippe Laframboise in 1997 and 1998. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

LAFRAMBOISE, PHILIPPE, 1924-
MUS 281


Fonds Philippe-Laframboise.  - 1926-1997.  - 2,56 m de documents textuels.  - 406 photographies.  - 47 bandes sonores.

Notice biographique
Journaliste, écrivain, documentaliste et historien né à Sainte-Geneviève de Pierrefonds (Québec), Philippe Laframboise s'installe à Montréal en 1935 où il poursuit ses études primaires.  En 1942, il devient messager de la salle de rédaction du journal Le Devoir et il débute sa carrière de journaliste en 1947 dans Le Progrès de Villeray sous le pseudonyme de Christian de Vincy.  La même année, il publie le récit Les Vacances de Lili et fonde, avec l'auteure Béatrice Clément, l'Association des écrivains pour la jeunesse.  En 1955, Laframboise entreprend un séjour d'étude en France où il suit, entre autres, des cours d'histoire de l'art, de littérature française, de phonétique et d'art dramatique.  Au cours de sa carrière, il travaille aussi pour les hebdomadaires Nouvelles Illustrées et Télé-Radiomonde ainsi que pour diverses émissions à la radio et à la télévision dont La Valse a cent ans et L'Univers de Yoland Guérard

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient, entre autres, des notes biographiques et un dossier de presse sur Laframboise; des manuscrits de livres (Les Chansons de la Bolduc, Dieu chez Piaf, Tino Rossi :  cinquante ans d'amour, Les vacances de Lili, etc.); des scripts pour séries radiophoniques (Le Grand carrousel du samedi matin, La Petite histoire de la chanson, etc.); des scripts pour séries télévisées (Histoire d'une étoile, C'était l'bon temps, Québec sait chanter, Formi. . . formidable, etc.); des notes biographiques sur des personnalités du monde artistique; photographies de chanteurs populaires, de comédiens et autres personnalités de la scène québecoise et européenne; enregistrements d'émissions de variété et d'entrevues réalisés pour la chaîne CFTM entre 1965 et 1970. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Philippe Laframboise en 1997 et 1998. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive