Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MacMILLAN, ERNEST, SIR, 1893-1973
MUS 7


Sir Ernest MacMillan fonds.  - 1890-1973.  - 12.33 m of textual records.  - 913 photographs.  - 11 negatives.  - 4 glass-plate negatives.  - 16 drawings.  - 52 audio discs.  232 audio tape reels. 

Biographical sketch
A dominant figure in the world of Canadian music, MacMillan distinguished himself as a conductor, organist, pianist, composer, educator, writer and administrator.  He spent forty years of his life in downtown Toronto, not far from Massey Hall, his most frequent performance venue.  He conducted the Toronto Symphony Orchestra from 1931 to 1956 and the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir from 1942 to 1957.  He was principal of the Royal Conservatory of Music from 1926 to 1942 and dean of the University of Toronto's Faculty of Music from 1927 to 1952.  He chaired a number of organizations, such as the Canadian Music Council (1947-66) and the Canadian Music Centre (1959-70).  His work as an examiner and festival adjudicator took him all across the country.  His musical works and numerous arrangements feature elements of French-Canadian and Scottish folklore, as well as Amerindian music.  The most important include:  Fantasy on Scottish Melodies for orchestra, Two Sketches for Strings, Six Bergerettes du Bas-Canada for chamber ensemble, England and a Te Deum for choir, a String Quartet in C Minor and the opera Prince Charming

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the entirety of MacMillan's professional activities.  The series "Career and Other Activities" illustrates MacMillan's devotion to music promotion in Canada and his abilities as administrator and teacher.  The many writings also show the author's musical and social thought, including texts such as The Arts in War Time (1940) and Is Canada Progressing Musically (1956). 

The fonds is composed of the following series:  A - Career and Other Activities; B - Correspondence; C - Compositions; D - Writings; E - Programmes; F - Sound Recordings (sound recordings of compositions, interviews and concerts conducted by MacMillan); G - Writings About MacMillan by Others; H - Sir Ernest MacMillan Fine Arts Clubs of Canada; I - Photographs and Drawings (photographs of MacMillan and personalities of the music world; drawings, by Arthur Lismer, among others); J - Personal Documents; K - Awards, Honours, Titles; L - Financial Documents. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  records deposited on loan at the National Library of Canada in 1977 and purchased from the Estate of Ernest MacMillan in 1984. 

Restrictions:  none.

Finding aids:  Maureen Nevins.  "Numerical List of the Sir Ernest MacMillan fonds."  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  1992.  409 p.  (unpublished). 

 

Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

MACMILLAN, ERNEST, SIR, 1893-1973
MUS 7


Fonds sir Ernest-MacMillan.  - 1890-1973.  - 12,33 m de documents textuels.  - 913 photographies.  - 11 négatifs - 4 négatifs sur plaques de verre.  - 16 dessins.  - 52 disques sonores.  - 232 bandes sonores. 

Notice biographique
Figure dominante du monde musical canadien, MacMillan s'y illustre à titres de chef d'orchestre, d'organiste, de pianiste, de compositeur, d'éducateur, d'auteur et d'administrateur.  Quarante années de sa vie se déroulent au centre-ville de Toronto, non loin du Massey Hall, salle où il se produit le plus souvent comme interprète.  Il dirige le Toronto Symphony Orchestra de 1931 à 1956 et le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir de 1942 à 1957.  Il occupe les postes de directeur du Royal Conservatory of Music de 1926 à 1942 et de doyen de la Faculté de musique de l'Université de Toronto de 1927 à 1952.  Il préside nombre d'organismes dont le Conseil canadien de la musique (1947-66) et le Centre de musique canadienne (1959-70).  Ses fonctions d'examinateur et de juge de festivals le conduisent partout au pays.  On trouve dans ses oeuvres musicales et ses nombreux arrangements des éléments des folklores canadiens-français et écossais de même que de musique amérindienne.  Parmi les plus importantes, citons :  Fantasy on Scottish Melodies pour orchestre, Two Sketches for Strings, Six Bergerettes du Bas-Canada pour ensemble de chambre, England et un Te Deum pour choeur, un Quatuor à cordes en do mineur et l'opéra Prince Charming

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent de l'ensemble des activités professionnelles de MacMillan.  La série «Carrière et activités diverses» illustre bien, entre autres, le dévouement de MacMillan pour la promotion de la musique au Canada ainsi que ses habilités à titres d'administrateur et de pédagogue.  Les nombreux écrits montrent de plus la pensée musicale et sociale du créateur du fonds dont les textes The Arts in War Time (1940) et Is Canada Progressing Musically (1956). 

Le fonds est composé des séries suivantes :  A - Carrière et activités diverses; B - Correspondance; C - Oeuvres musicales; D - Écrits; E - Programmes; F - Enregistrements sonores; G - Écrits concernant MacMillan; H - Sir Ernest MacMillan Fine Arts Clubs of Canada; I - Photographies et dessins (photographies de MacMillan et de personnalités du milieu musical; dessins, entre autres, d'Arthur Lismer); J - Documents personnels; K - Prix, honneurs, titres; L - Documents financiers. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  documents déposés sur prêt à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada en 1977 et achetés de la Succession Ernest-MacMillan en 1984. 

Restrictions :  aucune.

Instruments de recherche :  Maureen Nevins.  «Numerical list of the Sir Ernest MacMillan fonds».  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1992.  409 p.  (inédit). 



Divulgation proactive