Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MATHIEU FAMILY
MUS 165


Mathieu family fonds.  - [ca. 1880]-1986 (predominant 1920-1960).  - 2.38 m of textual records.  - 672 photographs.  - 34 negatives.  - 1 tintype.  - 8 drawings. 

Biographical sketches
Rodolphe Mathieu (1890-1962):  Son of Olivine Arcand and Octave Mathieu, Rodolphe Mathieu was born in Grondines, near Québec.  Introduced to music by his sisters, he left his native village at around age 16 and moved to Montréal, where he studied piano with Alphonse Martin and singing with Céline Marier.  Then, propelled by the vigour of his youth and his creative demands, he began studying harmony, counterpoint and composition with Alexis Contant.  At age 17, he was appointed first organist at Saint-Jean Berchmans Church and simultaneously began a music teaching career. 

In 1920, he left for Paris, financially assisted by his friends, to further his musical training.  Enrolled at the Schola Cantorum, he studied composition with Vincent d'Indy and orchestration with Louis Aubert.  In addition, during those seven years, he studied conducting with Vladimir Golschmann and, at the Collège de France, took Pierre Janet's experimental psychology course.  His training in psychology, far from being frivolous, helped him in designing his educational work entitled Tests d'aptitudes musicales.  In 1923, living in extreme poverty, he obtained after numerous requests, the first grant from the Quebec government awarded to a composer. 

Returning to Montréal in 1927, he devoted himself to teaching and composition.  First teaching at the Institut pédagogique, run by the Sisters of the Congregation of Notre-Dame, and at the convent of the Sisters of Ste Anne at Lachine, he ultimately founded his own music school, the Canadian Institute of Music, in 1929.  The school quickly gained a reputation, as did the Soirées Mathieu, concerts organized by Rodolphe Mathieu to promote young composers and Canadian talent. 

Rodolphe Mathieu composed numerous works, including a string quartet, a trio, a quintet, 22 Dialogues for violin and cello, sonatas and an impressive quantity of vocal music.  In addition to his Tests d'aptitudes musicales, he also wrote, among other things, a treatise on creativity (Problèmes - Aperceptions), a collection of thoughts (Pensées et Anecdotes) and a range of articles on music and art in general (L'Étatisation de la musique, Le Sentiment amoureux en art).  Innovative and original, Rodolphe Mathieu's music was frequently misunderstood by his contemporaries, even scorned. 

André Mathieu (1929-1968):  Son of Rodolphe Mathieu and Wilhelmine Gagnon-Mathieu, André was born in Montréal.  He was fascinated from a very early age by the world of music and composed his first pieces for piano at the age of 4 (Les Gros chars, Trois études).  The following year André Mathieu gave his first recital at the Ritz-Carleton Hotel.  The audience was rapturous, exalted by the works of the small prodigy.  In 1936, under the baton of J.-J. Gagnier, he performed his Concertino no 1 on the CBC network.  That same year, he obtained a Government of Quebec bursary.  The young artist left Montréal with his family and moved to Paris to study piano with Yves Nat and Mme Giraud-Latarse and composition and harmony with Jacques de la Presle.  A few months later, he won over Parisian critics with his recital in the Chopin Pleyel Hall.  The event was repeated in the Salle Gaveau in March 1939; critics were unanimous:  the "young Canadian Mozart" was born. 

In 1939, André Mathieu returned to Montréal for a holiday, but the beginning of the war blocked his return to Europe.  Forced to remain in America, he undertook a series of concerts in Canada and debuted at New York Town Hall.  From 1940 to 1943, he lived in New York, studying composition with Harold Morris.  In 1941, he entered the young composers' competition organized by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra; he won first prize with his Concertino no 2, and his talents as a composer were confirmed again.  Finally, returning to Montréal in 1943 and remaining until the summer of 1946, he gave numerous concerts while continuing to compose (Sonate no 1 pour violon et piano, Concerto de Québec). 

The fall of 1946 marked a decisive turning point in André Mathieu's life; he had to come to terms with himself, to try his own wings, leaving for Paris alone, to study composition with Arthur Honegger and piano with Jules Gentil.  Unhappy in Paris, he returned to Montréal in 1947, depressed and exhausted.  André Mathieu had just lost his first fight, a critical battle for independence.  After that year, he was tormented and melancholy, no longer the same man.  With the passage of time, he succumbed to alcoholism, abandoning his concert career.  He took part in a few ridiculous "pianothons", trying desperately to beat records, in events which were inspired more by the circus than by music.  He did continue to compose, however, and to teach.  His notable works included a trio for violin, cello and piano (1949), a quintet (1953), a symphonic poem, Mistassini (1954), and a Rhapsodie romantique for concert band.  The artist died suddenly at age 39.  A prolific composer, he left a legacy of diverse and sensitive music. 

Wilhelmine Gagnon-Mathieu (1910-1976):  Wilhelmine Gagnon was born in SaintConstant to Jean-Arthur Gagnon, the village doctor, and Albina Proulx.  She was educated by the Dames du Sacré-Coeur, and also studied violin with Alfred De Sève.  On December 10, 1928, she married Rodolphe Mathieu, with whom she had two children:  André and Camille (1931).  Although she was a good violinist, she devoted her life to her children and to teaching.  In 1958, she founded a small private school, L'Oiseau Bleu. 

Scope and content
The records in the fonds pertain mainly to the musical career and private life of Rodolphe and André Mathieu and relations between various members of the Mathieu family.  Material concerning the Canadian Institute of Music and the Soirées Mathieu also illustrates Rodolphe Mathieu's involvement in Montréal music circles. 

The fonds contains biographical material; personal and professional correspondence; musical works; writings (thoughts, articles, poems, essays, notes); invitations; notarized documents; civil documents; contracts; copyright material; school work; report cards; examination questions; diplomas; radio texts; concert programmes; concert tickets; membership cards; financial records; publicity; travel documents; posters; annotated published scores; press clippings; and drawings and photographs, mainly of the Mathieu family. 

The fonds consists of the following series:  MUS 165/A Rodolphe Mathieu; MUS 165/B André Mathieu; MUS 165/C Wilhelmine Gagnon-Mathieu; MUS 165/D Other family members; MUS 165/E Manuscript, printed and annotated music by various composers; MUS 165/F Drawings; MUS 165/G Photographs; MUS 165/H Collection of press clippings; MUS 165/I Posthumous records. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired in 1984 from Marie-Ange Mathieu, André Mathieu's widow, and Éric Le Reste, Rodolphe Mathieu's grandson. 

Restrictions:  Copyright on all of the records in the fonds, except André Mathieu's musical compositions, is the property of Éric Le Reste.  He authorizes the National Library of Canada to make copies of these records, but wishes to be informed in the event of publication of manuscript textual records or performance of a musical work.  As regards manuscripts of André Mathieu's music, copyright remains the property of Marie-Ange Mathieu; no copy of manuscript works may be made without her written permission. 

Finding aids:  Stéphane Jean.  - The Mathieu Family fonds:  Numerical List .  - Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  - 1997.  88 p. 
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/music/index-e.html#fonds).



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

MATHIEU, FAMILLE
MUS 165


Fonds de la famille Mathieu.  - [ca 1880]-1986 (surtout 1920-1960).  - 2,38 m de documents textuels.  - 672 photographies.  - 34 négatifs.  - 1 ferrotype.  - 8 dessins. 

Notices biographiques
Rodolphe Mathieu (1890-1962) :  fils d'Olivine Arcand et d'Octave Mathieu, Rodolphe Mathieu naît à Grondines, près de Québec.  Initié à la musique par ses soeurs, il quitte son village natal vers l'âge de seize ans afin de s'établir à Montréal où il étudie le piano avec Alphonse Martin et le chant avec Céline Marier.  Par la suite, il entame ses études d'harmonie, de contrepoint et de composition avec Alexis Contant.  À 17 ans, il est nommé premier organiste de l'église Saint-Jean Berchmans et débute en même temps une carrière dans l'enseignement de la musique. 

En 1920, il part pour Paris, assisté financièrement par ses amis, afin de parachever sa formation musicale.  Inscrit à la Schola Cantorum, il y travaille la composition avec Vincent d'Indy et l'orchestration avec Louis Aubert.  De plus, durant ces sept années, il étudie la direction d'orchestre avec Vladimir Golschmann et entreprend, au Collège de France, le cours de psychologie expérimentale de Pierre Janet.  Sa formation en psychologie lui servira d'assise lors de la conception de son ouvrage pédagogique intitulé les Tests d'aptitudes musicales.  En 1923, vivant dans une extrême pauvreté, il obtient, suite à de nombreuses requêtes, la première bourse du Gouvernement du Québec accordée à un compositeur. 

De retour à Montréal en 1927, il se consacre alors à l'enseignement et à la composition.  D'abord professeur à l'Institut pédagogique, dirigé par les Dames de la Congrégation, et chez les Révérendes Soeurs de Sainte-Anne, à Lachine, il finit par fonder, en 1929, sa propre école de musique :  l'Institut canadien de musique.  L'école connaît rapidement une renommée ainsi que les Soirées Mathieu; concerts organisés par Rodolphe Mathieu afin de promouvoir les jeunes compositeurs et talents canadiens. 

Rodolphe Mathieu nous lègue de nombreuses oeuvres dont un quatuor à cordes, un trio, un quintette, 22 Dialogues pour violon et violoncelle, des sonates et une quantité impressionnante de musique vocale.  Outre ses Tests d'aptitudes musicales, il a écrit, entre autres, un traité sur la créativité (Problèmes - Aperceptions), un recueil de pensées (Pensées et Anecdotes) et différents articles sur la musique et l'art en général (L'Étatisation de la musique, Le Sentiment amoureux en art).  Innovatrice et originale, la musique de Rodolphe Mathieu fut souvent incomprise par ses contemporaines, voire même méprisée. 

André Mathieu (1929-1968) :  fils de Rodolphe Mathieu et de Wilhelmine Gagnon-Mathieu, André Mathieu voit le jour à Montréal.  Très tôt fasciné par le monde de la musique, il compose ses premières pièces pour piano à l'âge de quatre ans (Les Gros chars; Trois études). L'année suivante, André Mathieu donne son premier récital à l'hôtel Ritz-Carlton; l'auditoire est exalté, envoûté par les oeuvres de ce petit prodige.  En 1936, sous la direction de J.-J. Gagnier, il exécute son Concertino no 1 au réseau de la SRC.  Cette même année, il obtient une bourse du Gouvernement du Québec.  Le jeune artiste quitte donc Montréal avec sa famille et s'établit à Paris afin d'y étudier le piano avec Yves Nat et Mme Giraud-Latarse ainsi que la composition et l'harmonie avec Jacques de la Presle.  Quelques mois plus tard il séduit la critique parisienne par son récital à la Salle Chopin-Pleyel.  L'événement se reproduit à la Salle Gaveau en mars 1939; la critique est unanime, le "petit Mozart canadien" est né. 

En 1939, André Mathieu revient à Montréal pour y passer les vacances, mais le déclenchement de la guerre lui ferme désormais les portes de l'Europe.  Contraint de demeurer en Amérique, il entreprend une série de concerts au Canada et fait ses débuts au Town Hall de New York.  De 1940 à 1943, il s'installe à New York pour y travailler la composition avec Harold Morris.  En 1941, l'artiste s'inscrit au concours des jeunes compositeurs organisé par l'Orchestre philharmonique de New York; il remporte le premier prix avec son Concertino no 2, ses talents de compositeur sont à nouveaux confirmés.  Enfin, de retour à Montréal de 1943 jusqu'à la fin de l'été 1946, il donne de nombreux concerts tout en continuant à composer (Sonate no 1 pour violon et piano, Concerto de Québec). 

L'automne 1946 marque dans la vie d'André Mathieu un tournant décisif.  Il part pour Paris, seul, pour y étudier la composition avec Arthur Honegger et le piano avec Jules Gentil.  Malheureux à Paris, il revient à Montréal en 1947.  Par la suite, André Mathieu n'est plus le même homme, il est tourmenté, mélancolique.  Au cours des ans, il sombre peu à peu dans l'alcool tout en délaissant sa carrière de concertiste.  Il participe tout au plus à quelques "pianothons" où l'artiste s'acharne à battre des records, événements tirant plus leur source du cirque que de la musique.  Cependant, il continue à composer et s'adonne aussi à l'enseignement.  Il produit notamment un trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1949), un quintette (1953), un poème symphonique :  Mistassini (1954) ainsi qu'une Rhapsodie romantique pour grand orchestre.  L'artiste meurt soudainement à l'âge de 39 ans.  Compositeur prolifique, il nous laisse une musique diversifiée et sensible. 

Wilhelmine Gagnon-Mathieu (1910-1976) :  fille de Jean-Arthur Gagnon, médecin de village, et d'Albina Proulx, Wilhelmine Gagnon naît à Saint-Constant.  Elle fait ses études chez les Dames du Sacré-Coeur et étudie aussi le violon avec Alfred De Sève.  Le 10 décembre 1928, elle épouse Rodolphe Mathieu avec qui elle a deux enfants :  André et Camille (1931).  Bonne violoniste, elle consacre cependant sa vie à ses enfants ainsi qu'à l'enseignement.  En 1958, elle fonde une petite école privée :  L'Oiseau Bleu. 

Portée et contenu
Les documents du fonds témoignent principalement de la carrière musicale et de la vie privée de Rodolphe et d'André Mathieu ainsi que des rapports familiaux des divers membres de la famille Mathieu.  Les documents concernant l'Institut canadien de musique et les Soirées Mathieu montrent également l'implication de Rodolphe Mathieu dans le milieu musical de Montréal. 

Le fonds contient, entre autres, des documents biographiques; de la correspondance personnelle et professionnelle; des oeuvres musicales; des écrits (pensées, articles, poèmes, essais, notes); des cartes d'invitation; des actes notariés; des documents civils; des contrats; des documents relatifs aux droits d'auteur; des travaux scolaires; des bulletins scolaires; des questionnaires d'examens; des diplômes; des textes radiophoniques; des programmes de concerts; des billets de concerts; des cartes de membre; des documents financiers; de la publicité; des documents de voyage; des affiches; des partitions publiées annotées; des coupures de presse; des dessins et des photographies représentant principalement des membres de la famille Mathieu. 

Le fonds est formé des séries suivantes :  MUS 165/A Rodolphe Mathieu; MUS 165/B André Mathieu; MUS 165/C Wilhelmine Gagnon-Mathieu; MUS 165/D Autres membres de la famille; MUS 165/E Musique manuscrite, imprimée et annotée de divers compositeurs; MUS 165/F Dessins; MUS 165/G Photographies; MUS 165/H Collection de coupures de presse; MUS 165/I Dossiers posthumes. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis en 1984 de Marie-Ange Mathieu, veuve d'André Mathieu, et d'Éric Le Reste, petit-fils de Rodolphe Mathieu. 

Restrictions :  Les droits d'auteur de l'ensemble des documents du fonds, à l'exception des compositions musicales d'André Mathieu, sont la propriété de M.  Éric Le Reste.  En ce qui concerne les manuscrits de musique d'André Mathieu, les droits d'auteur demeurent la propriété de Mme Marie-Ange Mathieu; aucune copie des oeuvres manuscrites ne doit être faite sans sa permission écrite. 

Instruments de recherche :  Stéphane Jean.  - Le Fonds de la famille Mathieu :  répertoire numérique.  - Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  - 1997.  90 p. 
(http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/musique/index-f.html#fonds)



Divulgation proactive