Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MORAWETZ, OSKAR, 1917-
MUS 76


Oskar Morawetz fonds.  - 1876-1993.  - 5.90 m of textual records.  - 166 photographs.  - 10 negatives.  - 2 audio tape cassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Czechoslovakia, Oskar Morawetz studied theory with Jaroslav Krichka and piano with Karel Hoffmeister, Julius Isserlis and Lazare Lévy.  In 1936, on the recommendation of George Szell, he was named assistant conductor at the Prague Opera.  Morawetz moved to Canada in 1940, pursuing his musical training at the University of Toronto.  He began a career in teaching music at the Royal Conservatory of Music of Toronto before joining the faculty of the University of Toronto in 1951.  Essentially a self-taught composer, he produced many inspired works, including a Scherzo for piano, a Fantasy on a Hebrew Theme for piano, a Concerto for piano, String Quartet No.  1, a Serenade, Symphony No.  1, a Memorial to Martin Luther King and a widely performed and recorded piece for voice and orchestra, From the Diary of Anne Frank.  The artist's prize-winning works include his String Quartet No.  1 (1945), Sonata Tragica (1946) and Sinfonietta (1966) for winds and percussion.  In 1987 Morawetz received the Order of Ontario, and in 1988 was made a Member of the Order of Canada. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical activities of Oskar Morawetz as well as his relationships with various artists around the world:  biographical records; personal and professional correspondence, including letters from Glenn Gould, Zubin Mehta, Eugene Ormandy, John Newmark, Pablo Casals, Charles Dutoit, Darius Milhaud, Pierre Fournier, Walter Susskind, Lauritz Melchoir, Janet Baker, Aaron Copland, Arthur Honegger, Albert Roussel, etc.; manuscripts of compositions by Oskar Morawetz; documents concerning the works From the Diary of Anne Frank and Memorial to Martin Luther King; concert programmes; press clippings; posters; annotated books and scores (dedications by Ravel, Kleiber and Helen Berg, among others); collection of documents, including records of singer Ruzena Herlinger and a letter from Liszt and Régine Crespin; photographs, chiefly of Oskar Morawetz, members of his family, and Ruzena Herlinger; sound recordings of From the Diary of Anne Frank

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired through a transfer from the National Archives of Canada in 1976 and from Oskar Morawetz, in several accessions, between 1989 and 1993. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional summary description of part of the fonds. 

Associated material:  Oskar Morawetz fonds (MG 31, D 43) at the National Archives of Canada.

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

MORAWETZ, OSKAR, 1917-
MUS 76


Fonds Oskar-Morawetz.  - 1876-1993.  - 5,90 m de documents textuels.  - 166 photographies.  - 10 négatifs.  - 2 cassettes sonores. 

Notice biographique
Originaire de Tchécoslovaquie, Oskar Morawetz étudie les matières théoriques avec Jaroslav Krichka et le piano avec Karel Hoffmeister, Julius Isserlis et Lazare Lévy.  En 1936, sur la recommandation de George Szell, il occupe le poste de chef d'orchestre adjoint à l'Opéra de Prague.  Morawetz s'installe au Canada en 1940 et poursuit sa formation musicale à l'Université de Toronto.  Il débute une carrière dans l'enseignement de la musique au Royal Conservatory of Music de Toronto avant de se joindre, en 1951, au corps professoral de l'Université de Toronto.  Compositeur essentiellement autodidacte, il produit de nombreuses oeuvres inspirées dont un Scherzo pour piano, une Fantasy on a Hebrew Theme pour piano, un Concerto pour piano, le Quatuor à cordes no 1, une Serenade, la Symphonie no 1, le Memorial to Martin Luther King et la pièce, maintes fois interprétée et enregistrée, pour voix et orchestre From the Diary of Anne Frank.  L'artiste remporte des prix pour, entre autres, son Quatuor à cordes no 1 (1945), sa Sonata Tragica (1946) et sa Sinfonietta (1966) pour instruments à vent et percussion.  En 1987, Morawetz reçoit l'Ordre de l'Ontario et est fait, en 1988, membre de l'Ordre du Canada. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des activités musicales d'Oskar Morawetz ainsi que de ses relations avec divers artistes à travers le monde.  On y retrouve des documents biographiques; de la correspondance personnelle et professionelle incluant des lettres de Glenn Gould, Zubin Mehta, Eugene Ormandy, John Newmark, Pablo Casals, Charles Dutoit, Darius Milhaud, Pierre Fournier, Walter Susskind, Lauritz Melchior, Janet Baker, Aaron Copland, Arthur Honegger, Albert Roussel, etc.; des manuscrits de compositions d'Oskar Morawetz; des documents concernant les oeuvres From the Diary of Anne Frank et Memorial to Martin Luther King; des programmes de concerts; des coupures de presse; des affiches; des livres et des partitions annotés (dédicaces, entre autres, de Ravel, Kleiber et Helen Berg); une collection documentaire comprenant des documents de la chanteuse Ruzena Herlinger ainsi qu'une lettre de Liszt et de Régine Crespin; des photographies représentant principalement Oskar Morawetz, des membres de sa famille et Ruzena Herlinger; des enregistrements sonores de l'oeuvre From the Diary of Anne Frank

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis d'un transfert des Archives nationales du Canada en 1976 ainsi que et d'Oskar Morawetz, en plusieurs versements, entre les années 1989 et 1993. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire d'une partie du fonds. 

Documents connexes :  Fonds Oskar-Morawetz (MG 31, D 43) aux Archives nationales du Canada.

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive