Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

NEWMARK, JOHN, 1904-1991
MUS 175


John Newmark fonds.  - 1915-1991.  - 1.79 m of textual records.  445 photographs.  - 8 slides.  - 56 audio tape reels.  - 46 audio discs.  - 8 audio tape cassettes.  - 3 videocassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Bremen, Germany, to a family which cultivated music and painting, John Newmark (Hans Joseph Neumark) studied piano there and in Leipzig.  He settled in Montreal in 1944 and became a Canadian citizen in 1946.  One of North America's finest accompanists and ensemble players, his name has been invariably associated with such renowned singers as Maureen Forrester, George London, Pierrette Alarie, Léopold Simoneau, Bernard Diamant, John Boyden and Janet Baker, with violinists Noël Brunet, Hyman Bress and Alexander Brott, and with cellists Walter Joachim and Paul Tortelier, as well as with the Montreal String Quartet.  In 1949 and 1950, John Newmark accompanied the celebrated English contralto Kathleen Ferrier in two critically acclaimed North-American tours.  They won the Grand prix du disque de l'Académie Charles Cros in 1952 for their recording of the Schumann cycles and Brahms's Vier ernste Gesänge.  From 1972 to 1975, Newmark was an artistic advisor to the Opéra du Québec and served on many competition juries.  In 1974, he was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.  In 1979, he received the Canadian Music Council Medal, and in 1988, the Prix Denise Pelletier. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to John Newmark's musical career and his connections with a number of well-known artists.  It contains biographical documents; diaries; correspondence (Pauline Donalda, Maureen Forrester, Frances James, Louis Quilico, Gabrielle Roy, etc.); itineraries; scripts; contracts; certificates; scrapbooks containing concert programmes, correspondence, caricatures and press clippings; annotated published scores; photographs of John Newmark and personalities in the music world; and sound recordings of John Newmark playing solo or with artists such as Pierrette Alarie, John Boyden, Freda Van Hessen, Léopold Simoneau and Thérèse Sévigny. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from John Newmark in 1987 and from Michel Bourda in 1996 and 1998. 

Restrictions:  File 56 (contracts) is restricted. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

NEWMARK, JOHN, 1904-1991
MUS 175


Fonds John-Newmark.  - 1915-1991.  - 1,79 m de documents textuels.  445 photographies.  - 8 diapositives.  - 56 bandes sonores.  - 46 disques sonores.  - 8 cassettes sonores.  - 3 vidéocassettes. 

Notice biographique
Né à Brême, en Allemagne, et issu d'une famille qui accordait beaucoup d'importance à la musique et à la peinture, John Newmark (Hans Joseph Neumark) y étudie le piano ainsi qu'à Leipzig.  L'artiste s'installe à Montréal en 1944 et devient citoyen canadien en 1946.  Newmark étant l'un des accompagnateurs et des musiciens d'ensembles les plus réputés en Amérique du Nord, on associe immanquablement son nom à des chanteurs célèbres comme Maureen Forrester, George London, Pierrette Alarie, Léopold Simoneau, Bernard Diamant, John Boyden et Janet Baker, aux violonistes Noël Brunet, Hyman Bress et Alexander Brott, et aux violoncellistes Walter Joachim et Paul Tortelier de même qu'aux Quatuor à cordes de Montréal.  En 1949 et 1950, John Newmark accompagne la célèbre contralto anglaise Kathleen Ferrier à l'occasion de deux tournées nord-américaines qui ont beaucoup de succès.  Ils remportent le Grand prix du disque de l'Académie Charles Cros en 1952 pour leur enregistrement des cycles de Schumann et Vier ernste Gesänge, de Brahms.  De 1972 à 1975, Newmark occupe le poste de conseiller artistique à l'Opéra du Québec et est à maintes reprises membre du jury dans diverses compétitions.  En 1974, il devient officier de l'Ordre du Canada et il reçoit, en 1979, la Médaille du Conseil canadien de la musique ainsi que le Prix Denise Pelletier en 1988. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent de la carrière musicale de John Newmark et de sa relation avec plusieurs artistes de renom.  On y retrouve des documents biographiques; des mémoires; de la correspondance (Pauline Donalda, Maureen Forrester, Frances James, Louis Quilico, Gabrielle Roy, etc.); des itinéraires; des scripts; des contrats; des certificats; des spicilèges constitués de programmes de concerts, de correspondance, de caricatures et de coupures de presse; des partitions publiées annotées; des photographies de John Newmark et de personnalités du milieu musical; des enregistrements sonores de John Newmark en solo ou avec des artistes tels que Pierrette Alarie, John Boyden, Freda Van Hessen, Léopold Simoneau et Thérèse Sévigny. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de John Newmark en 1987 et de Michel Bourda en 1996 et 1998. 

Restrictions :  le dossier 56 est sous restrictions (contrats). 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive