Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MUS 237

thumbnail[48K] Orford String Quartet.  From left to right, Andrew Dawes (violin), Kenneth Perkins (violin), Sophie Renshaw (viola), Desmond Hoebig (cello), 1988.  Photo:  Gary Beechey. (by permission of Gary Beechey).

Orford String Quartet fonds.  - 1983-1993.  - 60 cm of textual records.  - 521 photographs.  - 22 negatives. 

Administrative history
A renowned ensemble originally consisting of Andrew Dawes (first violin), Kenneth Perkins (second violin), Terence Helmer (viola) and Marcel Saint-Cyr (cello).  Denis Brott succeeded Marcel Saint-Cyr in 1980 and was himself replaced in 1988 by Desmond Hoebig.  Helmer left the group in 1986 and was replaced by Robert Levine, whose place was taken by English violist Sophie Renshaw in 1987.  The Orford String Quartet performed numerous concerts throughout the world, in countries including France, Austria, the Soviet Union, Australia and New Zealand.  Its vast repertoire covered the works of some 30 Canadian composers including The Final Silence (Bauer), Five Fantaisies (Morawetz), Paysage dépaysé (Morel) and Jacques Hétu's Quatuor à cordes no.  1.  The group also won a number of awards, including first prize in the European Broadcasting Union's String Quartet Competition, the Molson Prize and Juno Awards. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the group's activities during its last eight years of existence.  It contains, among other items, administrative correspondence; minutes and activity reports; applications for financial assistance and other financial documents; programme notes; tour itineraries and schedules; biographical and promotional material; documents concerning the Orford String Quartet Foundation, the group's 25th anniversary, the Juno Awards, etc.; photographs of Quartet members at different points in the group's existence. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Quartet members in 1993. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Divulgation proactive