Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

PETERSON, OSCAR, 1925-
MUS 199


Thumbnail [44K] Oscar Peterson, [194-?], Photo: D.C. [Langford]. (by permission of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company).

Oscar Peterson fonds.  - 1940-1998.  - 2.42 m of textual records.  - 598 photographs.  - 3 slides.  - 8 graphic records  - 8 audio tape cassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Pianist, singer and composer born in Montréal, Quebec, Oscar Peterson studied piano with his sister before pursuing his training with pianists Lou Hooper and Paul de Marky.  In 1940 he won an amateur music competition, and about this time began his radio program Fifteen Minutes Piano Rambling.  From 1948 to 1949, he formed a trio with double bassist Austin "Ozzie" Roberts, drummer Clarence Jones and, for a time, guitarist Ben Johnson.  The trio performed at the Alberta Lounge club and on radio station CFCF in Montréal.  In 1951, under the management of American impresario Norman Granz, the artist formed a new trio (piano, guitar and double bass) in the United States.  With his trio and as a soloist, Oscar Peterson gaves many concerts in the United States, Canada and Europe.  His compositions include Canadiana Suite, Hallelujah Time, Blues for Big Scotia, African Suite, Easter Suite, Royal Wedding Suite and Hymn to Freedom.  Winner of many Grammy Awards, he was also made an Officer of the Order of Canada (1972), Companion of the Order of Canada (1984), Officer of the Ordre des arts et des lettres in France (1989), and Chevalier of the Ordre national du Québec (1991). 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the musical activities and popularity of Oscar Peterson.  It contains, among others items,  biographical records; passport; correspondence; contracts; lecture notes; itineraries and schedules; certificates; diplomas; concert programmes; financial records; posters and promotional material; press clippings; periodicals; photographs of Oscar Peterson; sound recordings by various artists. 

The fonds contains the following series: MUS 199/A Correspondence; MUS 199/B Concerts; MUS 1999/C Awards, Honours and Tributes; MUS 199/D Printed Material Concerning Oscar Peterson; MUS 199/E Drawings, Serigraph and Reproductions; MUS 199/F Photographs; MUS 199/G Miscellaneous.

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Oscar Peterson in several accessions, between 1991 and 1997. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  Stéphane Jean.  The Oscar Peterson fonds: Numerical List. Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  2000. 43 p.  (www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/music/index-e.html#fonds).

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

PETERSON, OSCAR, 1925-
MUS 199


Thumbnail [44K]

Oscar Peterson, [194-?], Photo : D.C. [Langford]. (avec l'autorisation de la Canadian Pacific Railway Company)

Fonds Oscar-Peterson.  - 1940-1998.  - 2,42 m de documents textuels.  - 598 photographies.  - 3 diapositives.  - 8 documents iconographiques. -  8 cassettes sonores. 

Notice biographique
Pianiste, chanteur et compositeur né à Montréal (Québec), Oscar Peterson étudie le piano avec sa soeur avant de poursuivre sa formation avec les pianistes Lou Hooper et Paul de Marky.  En 1940, il gagne un concours de musique amateur et débute, vers cette époque, son émission de radio Fifteen Minutes Piano Rambling.  De 1948 à 1949, il forme un trio avec le contrebassiste Austin «Ozzie» Roberts, le batteur Clarence Jones et, pendant quelque temps, le guitariste Ben Johnson.  Le trio se produit au cabaret Alberta Lounge ainsi qu'à la station de radio CFCF de Montréal.  En 1951, sous l'administration de l'imprésario américain Norman Granz, l'artiste fonde, aux États-Unis, un nouveau trio (piano, guitare et contrebasse).  Avec son trio et comme soliste, Oscar Peterson donne de nombreux concerts aux États-Unis, au Canada et en Europe.  Parmi les compositions de Peterson figurent les oeuvres Canadiana Suite, Hallelujah Time, Blues for Big Scotia, African Suite, Easter Suite, Royal Wedding Suite et Hymn to Freedom.  Gagnant de plusieurs Grammy Awards, il est également fait officier de l'Ordre du Canada (1972), officier de l'Ordre des arts et des lettres de France (1989) et chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec (1991). 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent des activités musicales et de la popularité d'Oscar Peterson.  On y retrouve, entre autres, des documents biographiques; un passeport; de la correspondance; des contrats; des textes de conférences; des itinéraires et des calendiers; des certificats; des diplômes; des programmes de concerts; des documents financiers; des affiches et autres documents publicitaires; des cartes d'invitation; des coupures de presse; des périodiques; des photographies d'Oscar Peterson; des enregistrements sonores de divers artistes. 

Le fonds comprend les séries suivantes : MUS 199/A Correspondance; MUS 199/B Concerts; MUS 199/C Prix, honneurs et hommages; MUS 199/D Imprimés concernant Oscar Peterson; MUS 199/E Dessins, sérigraphie et reproductions; MUS 199/F Photographies; MUS 199/G Varia.

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis d'Oscar Peterson, en plusieurs versements, entre les années 1991 et 1997. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  Stéphane Jean.  Le Fonds Oscar-Peterson : répertoire numérique. Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du canada.  2000. 48 p.
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/musique/index-f.html#fonds).

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive