Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

SMITH, HAROLD D., [18-]-[19-]
MUS 113


Harold D. Smith fonds.  - 1902-1966.  - 2.30 m of textual records.  - 896 photographs.  - 108 negatives.  - 11 lantern slides.  - 11 drawings. 

Biographical sketch
Harold D. Smith was a manager with the Victor Talking Machine Co. from 1915 to 1935, in Camden, New Jersey.  He first worked in the educational section, and then moved to the foreign languages section.  He helped to prepare the catalogues for these two sections. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the professional activities of Harold D. Smith and the Victor Talking Machine Co.  One will find recordings ledgers (artists, repertoires and sales); ledgers of daily sales reports; internal mail and business letters of the Victor Talking Machine Co.; The Thing Talked, unpublished text by H.D. Smith on the history of the phonograph, and other writings by H.D. Smith for the Victor Talking Machine Co.; files consisting of correspondence, contracts and clippings pertaining to celebrated artists such as Juliette Gaultier de la Vérendrye (Canadian folk singer), Maria Gay, Giovanni Zenatello, Lily Pons and Thurlow Lieurance; posters; promotional material; concert programmes; photographs of artists who recorded for the Victor Talking Machine Co. or company managers; mock-ups of posters. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired through agents of the Smith family, the Smolian Sound studios of Catskill, New York, in 1979. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description.



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

SMITH, HAROLD D., [18-]-[19-] 
MUS 113


Fonds Harold-D.-Smith.  - 1902-1966.  - 2.30 m de documents textuels.  - 896 photographies.  - 108 négatifs.  - 11 diapositives sur lanternes de verre.  - 11 dessins. 

Notice biographique
Harold D. Smith fut l'un des cadres de la Victor Talking Machine Co. de 1915 à 1935, à Camden (New Jersey).  Il travailla d'abord à la section éducative puis passa à la section des langues étrangères.  Il contribua à la préparation du catalogue de ces deux services. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des activités professionnelles d'Harold D. Smith et de la Victor Talking Machine Co. On y retrouve des registres d'enregistrements (artistes, répertoires et ventes); des registres quotidiens des rapports de ventes; du courrier interne et des lettres d'affaires de la Victor Talking Machine Co.; un texte inédit de H.D. Smith sur l'histoire du phonographe (The Thing Talked) et d'autres écrits de H.D. Smith pour la Victor Talking Machine Co.; des dossiers constitués de correspondance, de contrats et de coupures relatifs à des artistes renommés dont Juliette Gaultier de la Vérendrye (chanteuse de folklore canadienne), Maria Gay, Giovanni Zenatello, Lily Pons et Thurlow Lieurance; des affiches; des documents publicitaires; des programmes de concerts; des photographies représentant des artistes ayant enregistré pour la Victor Talking Machine Co. ou des cadres de la société; des maquettes d'affiches publicitaires. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis par l'entremise des agents de la famille Smith, les studios Smolian Sound de Catskill (New York), en 1979. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive