Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

SMITH, LEO, 1881-1952
MUS 37


Leo Smith fonds.  - 1905-1951.  - 85 cm of textual records.  - 1 drawing. 

Biographical sketch
Composer, cellist, writer and professor born in Birmingham, England, Leo Smith first learned cello with W.H. Priestley and Carl Fuchs.  A talented child, he performed in recital at the age of eight at Birmingham City Hall.  He continued his training at the Royal Manchester College of Music and the University of Manchester.  In England, he worked primarily as a cellist in the Hallé Orchestra, and for five years was a member of the Royal Opera House Orchestra (Covent Garden).  In 1910 he emigrated to Canada and joined the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.  Smith was also a member of a number of musical groups, including the Conservatory Trio, the Conservatory String Quartet and the Academy String Quartet.  Interested in teaching, he wrote three textbooks, including Musical Rudiments, and was also employed as a professor at the Toronto Conservatory of Music and the University of Toronto (1927-50).  He composed works for piano, choir and orchestra (An Ancient Song, A Summer Idyll) and chamber music (Quartet in D, Sonata in E Minor and A Horse Race Ballad). 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the musical activities of Leo Smith:  biographical notes; correspondence; manuscripts of compositions and arrangements by Leo Smith; list of works; programme notes; contract; ink portrait of L. Smith by Owen Staples. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Marion Brown and Betty Wilkinson in 1973 and 1974. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  inventory. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

SMITH, LEO, 1881-1952
MUS 37


Fonds Leo-Smith.  - 1905-1951.  - 85 cm de documents textuels.  - 1 dessin. 

Notice biographique
Compositeur, violoncelliste, écrivain et professeur né à Birmingham, en Angleterre, Leo Smith débute l'apprentissage du violoncelle avec W.H. Priestley et Carl Fuchs.  Enfant talentueux, il se produit en récital, à l'âge de huit ans, à l'hôtel de ville de Birmingham.  Il poursuit sa formation au Royal Manchester College of Music ainsi qu'à l'Université de Manchester.  En Angleterre, il travaille principalement comme violoncelliste dans l'Orchestre Hallé et est membre, durant cinq ans, de l'orchestre de la Royal Opera House (Covent Garden).  En 1910, l'artiste émigre au Canada et se joint au Toronto Symphony Orchestra.  Smith est également membre de plusieurs ensembles musicaux dont le Conservatory Trio, le Conservatory String Quartet et l'Academy String Quartet.  Intéressé par l'enseignement, il écrit trois manuels scolaires dont Musical Rudiments et occupe aussi le poste de professeur au Toronto Conservatory of Music ainsi qu'à l'Université de Toronto (1927-50).  Il compose des oeuvres pour piano, choeur, orchestre (An Ancient Song, A Summer Idyll) et de la musique de chambre (Quatuor en ré, Sonate en mi mineur et A Horse Race Ballad). 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent des activités musicales de Leo Smith :  notes biographiques; correspondance; manuscrits de compositions et d'arrangements de Leo Smith; liste d'oeuvres; notes de programmes; contrat; portrait à l'encre de L. Smith par Owen Staples. 

Source immédiate d'acquistion :  acquis de Marion Brown et de Betty Wilkinson en 1973 et 1974. 

Restrictions :  aucune

Instruments de recherche :  inventaire. 



Divulgation proactive