Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

UNGER, HEINZ, 1895-1965
MUS 56


Heinz Unger fonds.  - 1893-1965.  - 2 m of textual records.  - 187 photographs.  - 6 drawings.  - 10 audio discs. 

Biographical sketch
Conductor born in Berlin, Germany, Heinz Unger studied music with Wilhelm Klatte, Theodor Schoenberger, Eduard Moerike and Fritz Stiedry.  In 1919 he began his professional career as a conductor with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.  A talented conductor, he was invited to perform in many other German cities and in the Soviet Union, where he conducted the Leningrad Radio Orchestra, among others.  In 1933 he moved to England, where he conducted the Northern Philharmonia until 1947.  After a few visits to Canada, Heinz Unger decided to settle permanently in Toronto in 1948.  In Canada, he conducted the Promenade symphony concerts, founded an amateur orchestra, and conducted many orchestras for the French and English networks of the CBC.  He also gave numerous concerts for the York Concert Society. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to Heinz Unger's activity as a conductor and his relations with several world renowned musicians.  It includes:  biographical documents; correspondence including letters from such famous musicians as Alma Mahler, Richard Strauss, Willhelm Furtwängler, Bruno Walter, Leopold Stokowski, Rafaël Kubelik, Adrian Boult, etc.; writings on and by Heinz Unger; files on the York Concert Society; concert programmes; press clippings; promotional material; posters; manuscript scores; photographs mainly of Heinz Unger and of personalities in the music world; drawings and caricatures, chiefly of Heinz Unger; sound recordings of works conducted by Unger (Mahler and other Europeans) and of a radio interview. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Hella Unger, the conductor's widow, in 1974, 1985 and 1986, and from daughter, Ines Johnston, in 1988. 

Restrictions:  some of the correspondence is confidential. 

Finding aids:  summary list. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

UNGER, HEINZ, 1895-1965
MUS 56


Fonds Heinz-Unger.  - 1893-1965.  - 2 m de documents textuels.  - 187 photographies.  - 6 dessins.  - 10 disques sonores. 

Notice biographique
Chef d'orchestre né à Berlin, en Allemagne, Heinz Unger étudie la musique avec Wilhelm Klatte, Theodor Schoenberger, Eduard Moerike et Fritz Stiedry.  En 1919, il entame sa carrière professionnelle de chef d'orchestre avec l'Orchestre philharmonique de Berlin.  Chef d'orchestre talentueux, il est invité à diriger dans plusieurs autres villes allemandes ainsi qu'en Union Soviétique où il dirige, entre autres, l'Orchestre de la radio de Leningrad.  En 1933, il s'établit en Angleterre et occupe la direction de la Northern Philharmonia jusqu'en 1947.  Suite à quelques séjours au Canada, Heinz Unger décide de s'installer définitivement à Toronto en 1948.  Au Canada, il dirige les Concerts symphoniques Promenade, fonde un orchestre amateur et dirige plusieurs orchestres pour les réseaux français et anglais de la Société Radio-Canada.  L'artiste donne également de nombreux concerts dans le cadre de la York Concert Society. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent de l'activité de chef d'orchestre d'Heinz Unger et de ses relations avec plusieurs musiciens renommés internationalement.  Il comprend des documents biographiques; de la correspondance incluant des lettres de musiciens célèbres tels que Alma Mahler, Richard Strauss, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Bruno Walter, Leopold Stokowski, Rafaël Kubelik, Adrian Boult, etc.; des écrits sur et par Heinz Unger; des dossiers sur la York Concert Society; des programmes de concerts; des coupures de presse; des documents publicitaires; des affiches; des partitions manuscrites; des photographies principalement d'Heinz Unger et de personnalités du milieu musical; des dessins et des caricatures représentant principalement Heinz Unger; des enregistrements sonores d'oeuvres dirigées par Unger (Mahler et autres Européens) et d'une interview radiophonique. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis d'Hella Unger, veuve du chef d'orchestre, en 1974, 1985 et 1986 ainsi que de sa fille, Ines Johnston, en 1988. 

Restrictions :  une partie de la correspondance est confidentielle. 

Instruments de recherche :  liste sommaire. 



Divulgation proactive