Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

CHAMPAGNE, CHAMP, 1929-1998
MUS 129


Champ Champagne fonds.  - 1916-1997. - 5.35 m of textual records. - 1 photograph - 413 audio tape reels. - 9 audio tape cassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Son of an organist and piano teacher, Champ Champagne received his musical education within the family and at the age of nineteen, began working as a pianist and double bass player at night clubs in the Outaouais. In 1952, Champagne joined the Central Band of the Canadian Forces, during which time he perfected his skills as an arranger and double bass player. Upon his return to civilian life in 1956, he founded the Canadian Jazz Quartet, followed by the Ottawa Saxophone Quartet. For many years, he led his Champ Champagne Quartet, as well as a jazz trio, a small swing orchestra and a big band. Champagne could be heard at the stylish Château Laurier and in the lavish Palm Springs cabarets in California. During his career, Champ Champagne shared the spotlight with such leading jazz musicians as Louis Armstrong, Oliver Jones, Chuck Mangione, Frank Sinatra and Michel Legrand. From 1961 to 1971, Champagne was musical director for the Ottawa television station CJOH, composing, arranging and performing the music for some six hundred programs, including Graham Kerr's famous "Galloping Gourmet." In the mid-1970s, Champagne opened a music store in Hull. During his seven years in sales, he gave workshops on the organ and on music theory for Yamaha International and also taught at Algonquin College. Champagne wrote numerous articles and was a regular contributor to Keyboard World and Organist Magazine. He is the author of Musical Maneuvers: A Creative Approach to the Language of Music (Downey, CA: BW Productions, 1976) and The Real Chord Changes & Substitutions (Milwaukee: H. Leonard Pub., 1992). Champagne's music regularly appeared in Canadian and foreign music publications. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical activities of Champ Champagne: autograph manuscripts of compositions (Galloping Gourmet, Land of Dreams, Pas de tristesse pour moi, etc.) and arrangements (Hello Dolly, Feelin' Groovy, Moon River, etc.); fake books; teaching manuals and other educational aids; lists of songs, contracts, press clippings, scripts, various notes; correspondence; programmes; sound recordings of live and studio performances broadcast by CBC Radio and Television, and CJOH-TV. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Lyn Champagne, daughter of Champ Champagne, in 1999. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  futher accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

CHAMPAGNE, CHAMP, 1929-1998
MUS 129


Fonds Champ-Champagne.  - 1916-1997. - 5,35 m de documents textuels. - 1 photographie. - 413 bandes sonores. - 9 cassettes sonores. 

Notice biographique
Fils d'un organiste et professeur de piano, Champ Champagne puisa son enseignement musical au sein même de sa famille et commença, dès l'âge de dix-neuf ans, à jouer du piano et de la contrebasse dans les boîtes de nuit de l'Outaouais. En 1952, Champagne se joignit à la Musique centrale des Forces canadiennes, ce qui lui permit de se perfectionner en tant qu'arrangeur et contrebassiste. Reprenant la vie civile en 1956, il fonda le Canadian Jazz Quartet et ensuite l'Ottawa Saxophone Quartet. Durant plusieurs années, il dirigea son Champ Champagne Quartet ainsi qu'un trio de jazz, un petit orchestre de swing et un big band. On pouvait entendre Champagne au luxueux Château Laurier et dans les somptueux cabarets de Palm Springs en Californie. Au cours de sa carrière, Champ Champagne partagea la scène avec des musiciens de jazz de renom tels Louis Armstrong, Oliver Jones, Chuck Mangione, Frank Sinatra et Michel Legrand. De 1961 à 1971, il fut directeur musical de CJOH, une station de télévision d'Ottawa où il devint compositeur et arrangeur, en plus de jouer la musique de quelque six cents émissions dont le célèbre "Galloping Gourmet" de Graham Kerr. Au milieu des années 1970, Champagne ouvrit un magasin de musique à Hull. Au cours de ses sept années à la tête de ce commerce, il offrit des ateliers sur l'orgue et la théorie musicale pour Yamaha International en plus d'enseigner au Collège Algonquin. Champagne rédigea de nombreux articles et contribua sur une base régulière aux revues Keyboard World et Organist Magazine. Il est l'auteur des ouvrages intitulés Musical Maneuvers: A Creative Approach to the Language of Music (Downey, CA: BW Productions, 1976) et The Real Chord Changes & Substitutions (Milwaukee: H. Leonard Pub., 1992). On a fréquemment fait référence à ses oeuvres dans des publications canadiennes et étrangères consacrées à la musique. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds renferme des documents qui témoignent des activités musicales de Champ Champagne. On y retrouve des manuscrits autographes de ses compositions (Galloping Gourmet, Land of Dreams, Pas de tristesse pour moi, etc.) et des arrangements (Hello Dolly, Feelin' Groovy, Moon River, etc.); des "fake books", des manuels d'enseignement et autres documents pédagogiques; des listes de chansons, contrats, coupures de presse, scripts, notes diverses, lettres, programmes; des enregistrements sonores de prestations en direct et en studio réalisés par la radio et la télévision de Radio-Canada et CJOH-TV. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Lyn Champagne, fille de Champ Champagne, en 1999. 

Restrictions : aucune.

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive