Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

SOMERS, HARRY, 1925-1999
MUS 15


Harry Somers fonds.  - 5.39 metres of textual records. - 87 photographs. - 42 negatives. - 306 audio tape reels. - 10 audio tape cassettes. - 3 videocassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Toronto-born Harry Somers discovered his passion for music as an early teen and entered the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto in 1941. He studied piano with Reginald Godden and Weldon Kilburn, and composition with John Weinzweig. Scholarships received in the 1940s allowed him to continue his piano studies with E. Robert Schmitz in San Francisco and to study composition with Darius Milhaud in Paris. Somers was a gifted pianist, performing numerous recitals during the second half of the 1940s. Despite these successes, he left the concert stage in 1948 to devote himself entirely to composing, supplementing his income driving a taxi. He later accepted a position as a music copyist, further refining what would become his trademark calligraphy. During the 1950s, requests for his compositions increased significantly and by the 1960s, Somers was able to make a living entirely from his art. Somers became an enthusiastic promoter of Canadian music. He found his audience of choice in schools, where he strongly encouraged musical programs. To this end, Somers created a repertoire designed for musical learning. He was also able to reach a wider audience of students, and the public in general, through such radio and television programs as "Music of Today" which he hosted for the CBC from 1965 to 1969. Somers was known not only for his great versatility but also for his tremendous productivity. His body of work comprises more than one hundred major compositions both traditional and experimental. His stage music includes the opera Louis Riel, commissioned for performance during Canada's Centennial Year and also performed during the U.S. Bicentennial celebrations in Washington, DC. Somers composed for renowned artists such as Maureen Forrester (Five songs for Dark Voice), Cathy Berberian (Voiceplay) and Yehudi Menuhin (Music for Solo Violin). Somers was a founding member of the Canadian League of Composers and an associate of the Canadian Music Centre. He was made a Companion of the Order of Canada in 1972.  

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the life and musical activities of Harry Somers: autograph manuscripts of compositions by Somers; scripts for radio and television programs; personal and professional correspondence, including letters from István Anhalt, Aaron Copland, Sir Yehudi Menuhin and R. Murray Schafer; personal diaries; writings; notes; drawings; passport; last will and testament; agenda; contracts; financial records; musical works by other composers; concert programmes; posters; press clippings; photographs mainly of Harry Somers, his family and friends; sound recordings of musical works by Somers, of his work on radio, film and television, and of interviews; video recordings of the opera Louis Riel

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Barbara Chilcott Somers, widow of Harry Somers, in 2000 and 2001. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  futher accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

SOMERS, HARRY, 1925-1999
MUS 15


Fonds Harry Somers.  - 5,39 mètres de documents textuels. - 87 photographies. - 42 négatifs. - 306 bandes sonores. - 10 cassettes sonores. - 3 vidéocassettes. 

Notice biographique
D'origine torontoise, Harry Somers découvrit sa passion pour la musique au début de l'adolescence et c'est en 1941 qu'il s'inscrivit au Royal Conservatory of Music à Toronto. Il étudia le piano auprès de Reginald Godden et Weldon Kilburn et la composition avec John Weinzweig. Les bourses qu'on lui décerna dans les années 1940 lui permirent de poursuivre ses études de pianiste avec E. Robert Schmitz à San Francisco et de composition avec Darius Milhaud à Paris. Pianiste talentueux, Somers offrit plusieurs récitals au cours de la deuxième moitié des années 1940. Malgré de tels succès, il ne donna plus aucun concert à compter de 1948 pour se consacrer entièrement à la composition. Il accepta par la suite un poste de copiste musical pour ainsi préciser davantage ce qui deviendrait sa calligraphie de marque. Au cours des années 1950, ses compositions bénéficiaient d'une demande accrue et avant les années 1960, Somers put vivre exclusivement de son art. Il devint alors un ardent défenseur de la musique canadienne. C'est dans les écoles où il encouragea fortement l'enseignement musical qu'il trouva son auditoire de prédilection. Somers élabora donc à cette fin un répertoire destiné à l'apprentissage de la musique. Des émissions à la radio et la télévision, telles "Music of Today" qu'il anima à Radio-Canada de 1965 à 1969, lui permirent de rejoindre un plus vaste auditoire d'étudiants ainsi que le public en général. On le reconnaissait non seulement pour son incroyable versatilité mais également pour sa productivité phénoménale. Son oeuvre comprend plus d'une centaine de compositions majeures de types traditionnel et expérimental. Parmi ses œuvres destinées à la scène, mentionnons l'opéra Louis Riel, commandée durant l'année du Centenaire du Canada et jouée lors des célébrations du bicentenaire des États-Unis à Washington (DC). Somers a composé pour des artistes de renom tels Maureen Forrester (Five Songs for Dark Voice), Cathy Berberian (Voiceplay) et Sir Yehudi Menuhin (Music for Solo Violin). Compositeur agréé du Centre de musique canadienne et membre fondateur de la Ligue canadienne de compositeurs, on le fit Compagnon de l'Ordre du Canada en 1972. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents portant sur la vie et les activités musicales de Harry Somers : manuscrits autographes de ses compositions; scripts pour des émissions de radio et télévision; correspondance personnelle et professionnelle dont des lettres d'István Anhalt, Aaron Copland, Sir Yehudi Menuhin et R. Murray Schafer; journaux intimes; notes; dessins; passeport; testament; agenda; contrats; documents financiers; oeuvres musicales d'autres compositeurs; programmes de concerts; affiches; coupures de presse; photographies principalement de Somers, de membres de sa famille et d'amis; enregistrements sonores contenant des œuvres de Somers (concert, radio, cinéma et télévision) ainsi que des entrevues; vidéocassettes de l'opéra Louis Riel

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Barbara Chilcott Somers, veuve de Harry Somers, en 2000 et 2001. 

Restrictions : aucune.

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive