Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Confederation for kids

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Today Canada has ten provinces and three territories. However, back in 1867 when Canada first became a country it had only four provinces: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Quebec. After the first four provinces joined together to form Canada, it took 132 years before all the provinces and territories officially joined Canada.

This part of the Confederation exhibit gives the reasons each of these provinces and territories entered Confederation. They are listed in alphabetical order. The number after each province or territory shows the year it entered Confederation. Click on the name to be taken to the story of that province or territory.

Provinces and Territories