Bank of Canada

Regular page >>

About the Bank

Management and Administration

Board of Directors

The Bank's Board is responsible for the governance of the Bank and has specific duties related to finance, human resources, and administration.

The Board is composed of 12 Directors from outside the Bank, plus the Governor and the Senior Deputy Governor. The Deputy Minister of Finance sits on the Board as a non-voting member. The outside Directors come from across Canada and provide an important link to the various regions of the country. Directors are appointed for three-year terms by the Minister of Finance and may be reappointed at the end of their terms. If an appointment decision is delayed, Directors continue to fulfill their responsibilities as Board members until a new Director is named.

David A. Dodge*

W. Paul Jenkins*
Senior Deputy Governor

David T. Barnard
Regina, Saskatchewan

Kit Chan
Calgary, Alberta

Jean-Guy Desjardins*
Montréal, Quebec

Paul D. Dicks
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Daniel F. Gallivan*
Halifax, Nova Scotia

James S. Hinds
Sudbury, Ontario

Barbara R. Hislop*
Vancouver, British Columbia

Ronald J. Keefe
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

J. Spencer Lanthier*
Lead Director, Toronto, Ontario

Gilles Lepage
Caraquet, New Brunswick

Jocelyne Pelchat
Sutton, Québec

Thomas Rice
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Member Ex Officio:
Ian E. Bennett*
Deputy Minister of Finance

* Member of the Executive Committee