Bank of Canada

Regular page >>

(Left to right) Standing:
Deputy Governor Pierre Duguay, Senior Deputy Governor Paul Jenkins, Governor David Dodge, Deputy Governor Tiff Macklem.
Seated: Deputy Governor Sheryl Kennedy and Deputy Governor David Longworth.

About the Bank

Management and Administration

Governing Council

The Governing Council consists of the Governor, Senior Deputy Governor, and four Deputy Governors. It is responsible for monetary policy and decisions concerning financial systems, as well as for the day-to-day management of the Bank.

The Governing Council's main tool for implementing monetary policy is the target for the overnight rate. This rate is normally set on eight "fixed dates" per year. The Council arrives at its decisions about the rate by consensus, rather than by individual votes as is the case at some other central banks.


David A. Dodge

Senior Deputy Governor

W. Paul Jenkins

Deputy Governors

Sheryl Kennedy

Pierre Duguay

David Longworth

Tiff Macklem