Building the Site - History - Expo 67 - Library and Archives Canada
 Library and Archive Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Français | Help     Canada  
 Home > Browse Selected Topics > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu > History
  Important Notices | Proactive Disclosure  

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

expo67: A Virtual Experience
   History   Pavilions   Activities   Special Guests   News Report   Legacy   Canada's Centennial

BUILDING THE SITE

Considerable effort went into constructing Expo 67. First the site itself needed to be built and access improved. In order to co-ordinate this work, an efficient management system was adopted in 1963. Colonel Edward Churchill, an engineer, was named Director of Installations, and was responsible for the construction.

Îles Sainte-Hélène and Notre-Dame were officially handed over to Expo by the City of Montreal, which was in charge of the work, on June 30, 1964. The site was created from the existing islands, rock removed during the excavations for the Montreal metro, material left over from the St. Lawrence Seaway project, and material from the bottom of the river bed. Twenty-eight million metric tons of rock were needed for fill.

The next step was to plan and construct 850 pavilions and buildings, many of which were designed by architects and engineers from all over the world. They also needed to take care of the landscape design by laying grass, planting flowers and even different species of mature trees. Most of the pavilions were to be torn down after Expo so some features required in permanent buildings, such as heating systems, were not a concern for designers. However, right from the start, the decision was made that some of the buildings, such as the administration building, would be permanent. A number of the national pavilions, given by their representatives to the City of Montreal, are still standing today.





It is amazing that only two pavilions were behind schedule. Just six months before Expo opened, approximately 6000 workers were hard at work on the site. On April 27, 1967, with great jubilation, Expo 67 was declared officially open and its magnificent islands "came out of the water like Botticelli's Venus," as Yves Jasmin (Director of Public Relations, Information and Advertising for Expo) so aptly put it, to welcome the world.

 

img6 img7 img8 img9 img10

 



Site Map
Research
Links
Credits





Souvenirs Online
Games
Virtual
Visit
Teaching
Material

La construction du site - Historique - Expo 67 - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
 Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archive Canada English | Aide     Canada  
 Page d'accueil > Explorer les thèmes choisis > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu > Historique
  Avis importants | Divulgation proactive  

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

expo67: une expérience virtuelle
   Historique   Pavillons   Activités   Invités d'honneur   Revue
de presse
   Héritage   Centenaire
du Canada

LA CONSTRUCTION DU SITE

Des efforts considérables sont déployés pour bâtir Expo 67. Il faut d'abord ériger le site lui-même et en améliorer l'accès. La coordination de tels travaux nécessite l'adoption d'un système de gestion efficace. Dès 1963, le colonel Edward Churchill, l'ingénieur responsable de la construction, est nommé directeur de l'aménagement.

Les îles Sainte-Hélène et Notre-Dame sont officiellement remises à la Société d'Expo 67 le 30 juin 1964 par la ville de Montréal, qui est responsable des travaux. C'est à partir des îles déjà présentes, du roc extrait lors de l'excavation du métro de Montréal, des résidus des travaux d'aménagement de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent et du dragage du fond du fleuve que l'ensemble est créé. Il faut 28 millions de tonnes métriques de roc pour compléter le remblayage.

La prochaine étape consiste à planifier et à réaliser la construction de 850 pavillons et bâtiments dont une grande partie d'entre eux ont été conçus par des architectes et des ingénieurs des quatre coins du monde ! Il faut aussi s'occuper de l'aménagement paysager en installant du gazon, des fleurs, et même des arbres matures d'espèces variées. Étant donné que la plupart des pavillons doivent être démolis après l'exposition, les concepteurs n'ont pas à se préoccuper de certaines commodités que nécessitent les constructions permanentes, telles que les systèmes de chauffage. Il a toutefois été décidé dès le départ que des édifices, comme celui de l'administration, seraient permanents. Certains pavillons nationaux, offerts par leurs représentants à la ville de Montréal, sont toujours en place aujourd'hui.





Il est remarquable que seulement deux pavillons accusent un retard de construction. Rappelons qu'à six mois de l'ouverture, environ 6 000 travailleurs s'affairent sur le site. C'est donc dans une grande allégresse qu'Expo 67 est officiellement déclarée ouverte le 27 avril 1967. Comme l'a si bien dit Yves Jasmin, directeur des relations publiques, de l'information et de la publicité à l'Expo, ses magnifiques îles « sorties des eaux comme la Vénus de Botticelli », peuvent enfin s'ouvrir au monde.

 

img6 img7 img8 img9 img10
 



Plan du site
Recherche
Liens
Réalisation





Souvenirs Jeux
en ligne
Visite
virtuelle
Matériel
pédagogique