Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Politics and Government > Made in Canada Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

"Improvements on Telephones." Patent no. 8371, filed by Cyrille Duquet,1878

 

Patent no. 8371. Filing year 1878.

"Improvements on Telephones," Cyrille Duquet.

Alexander Graham Bell may have invented the telephone, but it took another Canadian to make it recognizable to modern users. Cyrille Duquet's telephone handset, pictured here, has stood the test of time as a brilliant piece of industrial design.

Bell's first models of the telephone weren't much to look at, and the first commercial versions were scarcely better. In both cases, the transmitters and receivers were fixed in place and required the user to constantly change position. The first commercial Bell phone, in 1877, was a box with one opening that served as both transmitter and receiver: callers had to speak into the opening and then put their ears to it to hear the reply. Bell's subsequent design was better, a wall-mounted phone with separate handheld transmitter and receiver, but it still required two hands to use.

Meanwhile, inventors throughout the Western world were working overtime to add their own twist to Bell's concept. The Canadian patent office registered dozens of variations on "Improvements to the Telephone," including designs by Henry Pole of Nova Scotia (no. 9055), Abner Rosebrugh of Toronto (no. 9068, no. 9069 and no. 46713), James Wright of Montreal (no. 19958 and no. 19959), and Thomas Ahearn of Ottawa (no. 9936), the last a prolific inventor better known for the streetcar heater and the electric oven. Among the deluge of patents was one filed in 1878 by Cyrille Duquet of Québec.

Duquet, a jeweller and clockmaker, had already proven himself to be a capable amateur inventor. In 1870 he had patented a device that registered the exact time at which watchmen reached various points in their rounds while checking a fire alarm telegraph. Duquet closely followed the development of the telephone and even reportedly corresponded with Bell. His 1878 patent was not for the handset itself, but for a new transmitter based on a cluster of permanent magnets that improved signal clarity, and a new mouthpiece design. Once these sections were patented, Duquet worked on a system for combining a transmitter and receiver in one unit, which he eventually arranged on a short board with a receiver at one end and a mouthpiece on the other. The first telephone installed in Montréal was one of these designs, and Duquet began to install phones and phone lines in the area.

Duquet's activites soon came to the attention of the Canadian Telephone Company, holder of Canadian patents to Bell's invention and not shy about enforcing its intellectual property rights. The company sued Duquet for patent infringement in 1881, and won the following year. However, the company immediately reduced its claim for damages from $5000 to $10 -- as it turns out, the company was interested in Duquet's improvements.

A few days after the judgment, Duquet sold all his patents and equipment to the Canadian Telephone Company for $2,100 and got out of the telephone business. He soon made a new name for himself in a completely different field -- politics. Over the next three decades, Duquet would serve off and on as an alderman in Québec. In the late 1880s he also oversaw the city's conversion from gas to electricity for its street lighting. But he remains best known for his practical improvements to the telephone.

References

Brown, J.J. Ideas in Exile: A History of Canadian Invention. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1967.

Grosvenor, Edwin S., and Morgan Wesson. Alexander Graham Bell: The Life and Times of the Man Who Invented the Telephone. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1997.

Nostbakken, Janis, and Jack Humphrey. The Canadian Inventions Book: Innovations, Discoveries and Firsts. Toronto: Greey de Pencier Books, 1976.

Vaugeois, Denis. "Duquet, Cyrille." Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online.
www.biographi.ca/EN/ShowBio.asp?BioId=42046&query=Duquet
(accessed October 17, 2005).

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Politique et gouvernement > Fait au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

« Perfectionnements aux téléphones ». Brevet no 8371, déposé par Cyrille Duquet en 1878

 

Brevet no 8371. Date de dépôt : 1878.

« Perfectionnements aux téléphones » [Améliorations apportées au téléphone], Cyrille Duquet.

Alexander G. Bell a inventé le téléphone, mais c'est un autre Canadien, Cyrille Duquet, qui en fait l'appareil que reconnaissent les utilisateurs actuels. Le combiné illustré ici a su traverser l'épreuve du temps, s'imposant par son remarquable dessin industriel.

L'apparence des premiers modèles de Bell n'offre aucun intérêt, non plus que les premiers appareils mis sur le marché. Dans les deux cas, le microphone et le récepteur étant fixes, l'utilisateur doit se déplacer sans cesse. En 1877, Bell lance sur le marché son premier appareil composé d'une boîte comportant une ouverture qui sert à la fois de microphone et de récepteur. Les utilisateurs doivent parler dans l'ouverture puis y coller leur oreille pour entendre la réponse. Bell améliore le modèle suivant, et propose un appareil mural où microphone et récepteur sont séparés. L'usager peut donc les tenir, mais il doit se servir de ses deux mains.

Durant ce temps, les inventeurs du monde occidental travaillent sans relâche pour ajouter leur touche à l'invention de Bell. Le bureau des brevets canadiens enregistre des douzaines de variantes d'« améliorations apportées au téléphone », dont le concept de Henry Pole de Nouvelle-Écosse (no 9055), d'Abner Rosebrugh de Toronto (nos 9068, 9069 et 46713), de James Wright de Montréal (nos 19958 et 19959) et de Thomas Ahearn d'Ottawa (no 9936), ce dernier, un inventeur prolifique, étant surtout connu pour son appareil à chauffer les tramways et son four électrique. Une multitude de brevets sont octroyés, parmi lesquels celui déposé en 1878 par Cyrille Duquet, de Québec.

Horloger et joailler, Duquet a déjà prouvé ses talents d'inventeur amateur. En 1870, il fait breveter un dispositif qui enregistre l'heure exacte à laquelle les gardiens passent à divers points de leur ronde tandis qu'ils vérifient un télégraphe avertisseur d'incendie. Duquet suit de près l'évolution du téléphone, et aurait même correspondu avec Bell. Son brevet de 1878 ne lui a pas été octroyé pour le combiné même, mais pour le nouveau microphone installé sur un bloc d'aimants permanents qui améliorent la qualité de la transmission, ainsi que pour le concept d'un nouveau microphone. Une fois ces éléments brevetés, Duquet travaille à un système qui comporte en un seul combiné le microphone et le récepteur. Il réussit à les intégrer sur une courte planche, chacun d'eux étant fixé à une extrémité. C'est ce modèle qui est utilisé comme premier téléphone à Montréal, et Duquet se lance dans l'installation de lignes et d'appareils dans la région.

Les activités de Duquet attirent bientôt l'attention de la Canadian Telephone Company, qui possède les brevets canadiens pour l'invention de Bell et ne craint pas de renforcer ses droits de propriété intellectuelle. En 1881, la compagnie poursuit Duquet pour atteinte aux droits conférés par un brevet, et gagne son procès l'année suivante. Cependant, la compagnie réduit sa réclamation, portant le montant de dommages et intérêts de 5 000 à 10 dollars. De fait, la compagnie s'intéresse aux améliorations apportées par Duquet.

Quelques jours après le jugement, Duquet vend tous ses brevets et son équipement à la Canadian Telephone Company, pour la somme de 2 100 dollars. Il se retire du marché du téléphone, et peu après, se fait un nom dans un tout autre champ d'action, la politique. Durant les 30 ans qui suivent, Duquet travaille sporadiquement comme conseiller municipal à Québec. À la fin des années 1880, il supervise la conversion de l'éclairage des rues, qui passe du gaz à l'électricité. Mais on le connaît surtout pour les améliorations qu'il a apportées au téléphone.

Références

Brown, J.J. Ideas in Exile: A History of Canadian Invention, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1967.

Grosvenor, Edwin S., et Morgan Wesson. Alexander Graham Bell: The Life and Times of the Man Who Invented the Telephone, New York, Harry N. Abrams, 1997.

Nostbakken, Janis, et Jack Humphrey. The Canadian Inventions Book: Innovations, Discoveries and Firsts, Toronto, Greey de Pencier Books, 1976.

Vaugeois, Denis. « Duquet, Cyrille », Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne,
www.biographi.ca/FR/ShowBio.asp?BioId=42046&query=duquet ,
(consulté le 17 octobre 2005).