Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Poster announcing the itinerary for the Treaty 8 Commission

Poster announcing the itinerary for the Treaty 8 Commission

ARCHIVED - Treaty 8

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Making the Treaty

"Aboriginal title," wrote David Laird, the chairman of the Treaty 8 Commission, "is simply an admission that the Indians should not be deprived of their occupation rights without compensation and their formal consent."

Laird was in effect summing up a body of British law first laid out by King George III in his Royal Proclamation of 1763: "If at any Time any of the said Indians should be inclined to dispose of the said Lands the same shall be Purchased ... at some public Meeting or Assembly of the said Indians."

The compensation paid by the government during the first year of treaty negotiations for the surrender of Athabasca totalled more than $300,000. In return, the Commission enrolled 2,217 Indians under the terms of the Treaty and distributed scrip to 1,243 Métis.