Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Map of the territory covered by Treaty 8


Map of the territory covered by Treaty 8

ARCHIVED - Treaty 8

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Map Showing the Territory

The region included within Treaty 8 was commonly referred to as Athabasca. It was named after the region's major waterways -- the Athabasca River and Lake Athabasca -- and included most of the Provisional District of Athabaska of the old North-West Territories. In today's terms the treaty lands encompass much of what is now the northern half of Alberta, the northeastern quarter of British Columbia, the northwestern corner of Saskatchewan, and the area south of Hay River and Great Slave Lake in the present-day Northwest Territories.